We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Porkers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnitas' Snack Shack

Carnitas' Snack Shack
2632 University Avenue, San Diego, CA
6192947675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Heavenly Porkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I found this place by accident when Google-ing Carnitas. Their hours are from 12:00pm to 12:00 am. So on Wednesday we arrived at 12:10pm to find a line waiting to order. I dropped my daughter off while I found a place to park. WOW she is 30th in line! Many of the people were regulars and the talk was: have you tried the Pork Belly appetizer, or the Carnitas, etc.etc. Well I was there for the Carnitas Tacos and my Daughter ordered a BLT (which really is bacon, ham, lettuce, and tomato on freshly baked Brioche, and an order of seasoned fries. Well......the carnitas was off the chart! The best I have had anywhere. Two tacos were plenty, I almost couldn't finish them. The BLT was awesome. The thick cut bacon was done to perfection and the ham was very tender and added a nice twist. However, the freshly baked brioche pulled it all together. Finally, the crispy seasoned fries were to die for. They had a nice bit of spice and had to be fried in pork fat to achieve such a great flavor WITHOUT being greasy. I can't wait to take my wife there next week!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We didn't find this place to be as amazing as the reviews said. We didn't like how close the ordering window was to the street, lots of flies as well. Our sandwiches need more on them besides just meat. Like sauce? Or toppings? Sorry but this place was super awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, providing you like pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really had no idea what to expect, we just new that we had to give it a try based on the amazing reviews. It certainly lived up to them.
We walked down from our hotel and joined the queue in the street. After maybe 15 minutes, we placed our order at the hole in the wall (the menu is very pork based, but everything sounds delivious). As we chose to eat in, we headed round the side and got a table and our food was brought out to us. I can't think of sufficient words to describe how good it was, but the pork belly melted in the mouth and tasted delicious and the BLT was unbelievably good.
I thoroughly recommend this place, and just wish they would open one in London!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Unbelievable meals for pork lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Carnitas' Snack Shack is a tiny gem tucked away where you'd least expect it! They recently remodeled and added a garden and more tables, as it used to be quite difficult to sit down! They also have a beer license now and offer many micro brews. On a large grill out back you can watch your meal being cooked! My all time fav is the Triple Threat Pork Sandwich, with pork belly, pulled pork and bacon! The pork belly appetizer is to die for, also! You can't eat there w/o ordering their delicious fries with bacon ketchup! And this trip I splurged and got the bacon ice cream sandwich! Talk about decadent. Whether ordering their carnitas, or any other pork item on the menu, you will be raving about this place to your friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Grease needed to be drained off a bit more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place more. It's a hip place and the flavors were good. It was just too greasy for me. The carnitas need to be drained more. Plus, being hip, it was a little pricey. I liked the beet terrine a lot and I want to go back and give them another try. It's nice that they have beer and wine, too. And a gluten free beer option for the wife! Big points for that! Maybe i should give a three and a half.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas' Snack Shack also viewed

 

Been to Carnitas' Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnitas' Snack Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.