We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the hype” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnitas' Snack Shack

Carnitas' Snack Shack
2632 University Avenue, San Diego, CA
6192947675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 4,122 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We didn't find this place to be as amazing as the reviews said. We didn't like how close the ordering window was to the street, lots of flies as well. Our sandwiches need more on them besides just meat. Like sauce? Or toppings? Sorry but this place was super awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    36
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, providing you like pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really had no idea what to expect, we just new that we had to give it a try based on the amazing reviews. It certainly lived up to them.
We walked down from our hotel and joined the queue in the street. After maybe 15 minutes, we placed our order at the hole in the wall (the menu is very pork based, but everything sounds delivious). As we chose to eat in, we headed round the side and got a table and our food was brought out to us. I can't think of sufficient words to describe how good it was, but the pork belly melted in the mouth and tasted delicious and the BLT was unbelievably good.
I thoroughly recommend this place, and just wish they would open one in London!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unbelievable meals for pork lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Carnitas' Snack Shack is a tiny gem tucked away where you'd least expect it! They recently remodeled and added a garden and more tables, as it used to be quite difficult to sit down! They also have a beer license now and offer many micro brews. On a large grill out back you can watch your meal being cooked! My all time fav is the Triple Threat Pork Sandwich, with pork belly, pulled pork and bacon! The pork belly appetizer is to die for, also! You can't eat there w/o ordering their delicious fries with bacon ketchup! And this trip I splurged and got the bacon ice cream sandwich! Talk about decadent. Whether ordering their carnitas, or any other pork item on the menu, you will be raving about this place to your friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Grease needed to be drained off a bit more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place more. It's a hip place and the flavors were good. It was just too greasy for me. The carnitas need to be drained more. Plus, being hip, it was a little pricey. I liked the beet terrine a lot and I want to go back and give them another try. It's nice that they have beer and wine, too. And a gluten free beer option for the wife! Big points for that! Maybe i should give a three and a half.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Yummy pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Three of us trekked to North Park to try this place and it was worth it, despite having to wait in a (short but slow) line in the hot sun. We arrived at 11.50 and there was less of a line when we left, but also no seats left. We had the carnitas tacos, which were very tasty and full of meat. The beet spinach and goat cheese terrine was good, but a bit small for the price (there were also a couple of spinach stems in there; all stems need to be removed from spinach in my view). The dark chocolate whisky bacon truffles were sublime. What we did not like: people from further back in line going in and reserving tables with sunglasses etc. (management should stop this), the flies, and the table-bussing cartons placed right in front of the knives and forks. The servers need to be the ones handling the cartons of dirty dishes, and they should be stored somewhere out of sight, rather than out in the open in front of the customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas' Snack Shack also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Carnitas' Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnitas' Snack Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.