We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Charged on at Check-in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #138 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Double Charged on at Check-in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had two rooms for two nights the total for both rooms both nights was only $503. My deposit of $50 per room per night should have made the total hold on my c.c. $703. We were charged the $503 per room plus the deposit! Why? Then one of our beds had sand in it and had to be changed...The A.C. in one of the rooms didn't work. It was very frustrating. At check-out we asked what amount was held on the c.c. and the guy danced around the question, wrote some numbers on our receipt; but NEVER gave us the amount. I expected much better than this from Double Tree.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced with the check-in process and room accommodations on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    281
    165
    80
    59
See reviews for
332
121
35
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel's accommodations and staff are very good. The driveway is on steep incline which could damage low profile cars and there isn't much within walking distance. There are no washers and dryers on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you with the steep driveway and by not provided washers/dryers on property. We want you as our loyal guest and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for a night for a nearby wedding. Very nice hotel, but check in was delayed: no room ready when promised. But after check in, very nice stay-gorgeous location, nice pool. Parking daily fee pricey $18!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you with the delayed check-in. We want you as our loyal guest and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was hesitant to stay at another DoubleTree after a recent experience in the Denver area, but gave this a shot due to Honors program and that the website showed recently remodeled. Overall - clean and updated and easy to access. Comfortable pool area and decent gym.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

nice hotel, no parking. Charged for parking but had to park in an alley way downhill. Many otheres were complaining as well, some parked in the accessway. THere was no control of the gates to make sure only hotel guests were parking there. Wedding was going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel. As Front Office Manager of this hotel, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you with the difficult parking. I have communicated your comments to our management team so that we may review and resolve this matter. We want you as our loyal guest and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were transferred to this hotel after the Hampton Inn's opening was delayed. The rooms were nice and the service was great. We received complimentary breakfast and a reduced parking rate as promised. The location was great, however the San Diego freeway is close and can be heard once things are quiet, but the noise was minimal. Kids enjoyed the warm cookies each day. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diago, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice accomidations but poor front desk service. When we called the front desk the phone rang until the system disconnected the call attempt. We called 3 differant times in 30 minutes. i thought they were busy and innodated with incoming calls. So i went down and found out that they had the phone system off and nobody could call

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel As Front Office Manager of this hotel, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you with the phone system being disconnected. I have communicated your comments to our management team so that we may review and resolve this matter. We want you as our loyal guest and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle

Address: 1515 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, Doubletree Club Hotel San Diego offers all the amenities you need and want, including: Over 11,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space hosting events from 10 to 300 persons. Panini Grill & Bar; fitness center with state-of-the-art cardio-exercise equipment; 24-hour business center, heated outdoor pool and spa; lush courtyard with large sundeck area, video game room, newsstand/gift shop, coin-operated guest laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
Doubletree Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.