We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty barbeque. Good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar

Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar
441 Washington Street at 5th, San Diego, CA
619-816-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #842 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty barbeque. Good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

Went there twice. Enjoyed the food and the ambience. Good service. Liked the selection but could use more dessert options.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Tuesday $10 Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

"You had me at Meat Tornado" - Ron Swanson

It used to be called "Texas Tuesday", its now called "Rodeo Roundup". I prefer the original name, but for $10 you still get the same 6 kinds of tasty meaty meats, from 3 different delicious species:

Meat #1 Pulled Pork...oink oink
Meat #2 Beef Brisket...moo
Meat #3 Pork Spare Rib...oink oink
Meat #4 Chicken Wings...cluck cluck
Meat #5 Cajun Sausage...oink oink
Meat #6 Tri Tip...moo

Everything is absolutely delicious. I guestimate its just over a pound of meat. It also comes with a side of your choice(get mashed potatoes!) and slice of boring, tasteless, plain white bread, which I recommend transforming into a pulled pork sandwich with lots of BBQ sauce.

BONUS: $3 Shiner Bock on draft on Tuesdays! This makes an excellent $13 dinner!

You have a 1 in 2 chance of seeing me here on a Texas Tuesday :)

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

the Brazen BBQ smelled good from the moment we walked in, lots of Trophies and awards for BBQ, so we thought Score! this will be great, as it turns out it was just an average BBQ we tried lots of different menu items and some appetizers (which were all just average) I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here, but if I really wanted BBQ and I was standing out front I would go back in.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by friends. The servers were very nice and quick with our order. The Atomic Peppers were a decent appetizer. We ordered the 3 meats and 3 sides with brisket (overcooked), pork (so-so) and chicken (again, overcooked). Our sides were fries (cold and mushy), house salad (good), and cowboy beans (mushy). I don't think we will be going back.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Found the service and the lunch to be well above average, surroundings were pleasant and would definitely go there again.

I had a combo platter with the smoked tri-tip and the brisket and both were fantastic. The sides were equally satisfying. I was part of a group of 8 and nobody had anything bad to say about the place, the service or the food so all things considered, you can't ask for more than that.

Well done guys.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.