We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - Outstanding Food & Drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar

Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar
441 Washington Street at 5th, San Diego, CA
619-816-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #694 of 3,693 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OMG - Outstanding Food & Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I ordered the Brisket and Pork Spare Rib combo platter; while waiting I had a cucumber martini; the martini was delicious and refreshing, the brisket was so tender and the taste was outstanding; I would say it was the best brisket I have ever had, the pork spare ribs were nicely smoked and tender. I am ready to return San Diego just to eat at Brazen again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“More a bar than a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This seems to be a bar which just happens to sell fast food - the decor did nothing to add to it's appeal for us. The food & service were both fine but we felt like we were eating in a railway station concourse & the bar seemed to be the main attraction. We ate here at the start of our 3 week stay in San Diego & did not bother to go again, although it was the closest restaurant to our hotel.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Missed on a couple of levels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a local several weeks ago, so I checked the reviews on TA and I was a little leery about the mixed comments about this place. We decided to try it anyway and it turned out to be a disappointment, the not so good TA reviews were very accurate. We ordered several items and the consensus was it is a very below average BBQ restaurant, nothing special. The ribs were over cooked and dry and the pulled pork sandwich was tasteless. The sides in general were another disappointment, especially the mac and cheese, it was over cooked and very dry. The restaurant is a little pricey, $80 for 4 people at lunch for so-so food. We don't plan on coming back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I absolutely love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Ever since Brazen BBQ opened in Hillcrest my partner and I have loved it! Their service is AWESOME! It is the only place that has real southern style sweet tea that is brewed FRESH! Being from the South it is really nice to have some southern style food around in a place that is full of nasty "organic" crap! I usually get the pulled pork sandwhich with coleslaw on top and smother it with their specialty BBQ sauces! For side dishes I get the crusted mac and cheese and baked beans! It is so delicious! If you are in the area I highly recommend this place to try if you are in the mood for a good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I'm a lover of BBQ and I was impressed. The brisket was delicious. So many layers of flavor and the pulled pork sandwiches were delightful as well. We will be back for sure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.