We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed on a couple of levels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar

Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar
441 Washington Street at 5th, San Diego, CA
619-816-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #671 of 3,705 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Missed on a couple of levels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a local several weeks ago, so I checked the reviews on TA and I was a little leery about the mixed comments about this place. We decided to try it anyway and it turned out to be a disappointment, the not so good TA reviews were very accurate. We ordered several items and the consensus was it is a very below average BBQ restaurant, nothing special. The ribs were over cooked and dry and the pulled pork sandwich was tasteless. The sides in general were another disappointment, especially the mac and cheese, it was over cooked and very dry. The restaurant is a little pricey, $80 for 4 people at lunch for so-so food. We don't plan on coming back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I absolutely love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Ever since Brazen BBQ opened in Hillcrest my partner and I have loved it! Their service is AWESOME! It is the only place that has real southern style sweet tea that is brewed FRESH! Being from the South it is really nice to have some southern style food around in a place that is full of nasty "organic" crap! I usually get the pulled pork sandwhich with coleslaw on top and smother it with their specialty BBQ sauces! For side dishes I get the crusted mac and cheese and baked beans! It is so delicious! If you are in the area I highly recommend this place to try if you are in the mood for a good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I'm a lover of BBQ and I was impressed. The brisket was delicious. So many layers of flavor and the pulled pork sandwiches were delightful as well. We will be back for sure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service, let down by the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've never been served a meat dish without a knife before, but when I started to eat and the meat just fell apart I started to think this could awesome. Sadly the top layer of meat was the only piece I received that was cooked that well. The rest was fatty and difficult to get into. The side of fries was good and the service was very friendly and helpful. The main component of the meal however really let it all down.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tough and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The BBQ pork ribs where a disappointment. They seemed to be like jerky on the outside which leaves me to believe that the moisture levels were not sufficient during the smoking process. The onion rings were 8 dollars (No there were no gold flakes in the batter) and most the other appetizers were similarly priced. The atmosphere and service were good, but I go out to eat for the food. There are better options for BBQ in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.