We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar

Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar
441 Washington Street at 5th, San Diego, CA
619-816-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #666 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I'm a lover of BBQ and I was impressed. The brisket was delicious. So many layers of flavor and the pulled pork sandwiches were delightful as well. We will be back for sure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service, let down by the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've never been served a meat dish without a knife before, but when I started to eat and the meat just fell apart I started to think this could awesome. Sadly the top layer of meat was the only piece I received that was cooked that well. The rest was fatty and difficult to get into. The side of fries was good and the service was very friendly and helpful. The main component of the meal however really let it all down.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tough and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The BBQ pork ribs where a disappointment. They seemed to be like jerky on the outside which leaves me to believe that the moisture levels were not sufficient during the smoking process. The onion rings were 8 dollars (No there were no gold flakes in the batter) and most the other appetizers were similarly priced. The atmosphere and service were good, but I go out to eat for the food. There are better options for BBQ in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible food, I can't believe I'm reading anything good about this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I had read several reviews on this restaurant and thought since some friends suggested going there I would finally get to see for myself. It started out good, because there is actually a parking lot which is difficult to find in that particular area. Inside the restaurant wasn't what I expected but that's okay. The counter people were friendly enough and the food was delivered quickly. Those are the only positives I can say because it went downhill after the food was delivered. I ordered the Smokehouse salad and a small sized portion of mac and cheese. The mac and cheese looked like it had been frozen and reheated because it was very watery at the bottom. There was NO flavor at all to the mac and cheese-I mean none! it tasted like eating plain pasta. I had to add a lot of salt and salad dressing even to eat it, my friend put the whole dish of collard greens in hers just to give it some flavor and it was barely edible then. Then the salad, also extremely bland. How do you make a bad salad? The corn kernels in it tasted like they were frozen and thawed out then added to my salad. The black beans were okay, but somehow all together it tasted so bland I had to get extra dressing just to give it any taste at all. Now I know what you're saying, they are probably best known for their BBQ not their salads, but my friends ordered all the meat that they offered on the menu and they said it was just okay, not good, definitely not great, just okay. The pulled pork, the ribs, the brisket, just passable. My other friend ordered the fried mac and cheese ball, and it was even worse than the regular mac and cheese. I'm not sure why anyone would call this amazing or exceptional or terrific by any stretch of the imagination, but to me and my group of 6, it tasted just barely above TV dinner food. The prices were really high for the amount of food, but for the quality of the food, they should have paid me to be there. For a salad and side of mac and cheese $14. BAD! Never again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific Food & Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've eaten at Brazen BBQ five times now and everything is delicious! Great pulled pork sandwich; excellent catfish po-boy sandwich; most tender beef brisket I've ever had; gumbo to die for; and service that's simply exceptional.

Their sides are great too: heavenly Smoked Kernal Corn Medley; Awesome Brazen Fries; delightful Ancho Spiced Baked Beans; great cole slaw and delicious cornbread.

Located in the Hillcrest part of San Diego, it's easy to find (corner of 5th Ave & Washington St) and very affordable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.