We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant

JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant
723 Felspar Street, Tower23 Hotel, San Diego, CA 92109
858 270 2323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mission Blvd.
Transit: MTS stop is available one block east from JRDN Restaurant. Mission and Felspar. Please see host for taxi requests.
Description: Chef David Warner fuses together the absolute best of contemporary steak and seafood restaurants at JRDN, our ultra-sleek oceanfront dining room. Focused on the future of culinary arts, Warner utilizes hand selected, all-natural meats, the finest seafood from sustainable sources and locally grown and organic produce to create a uniquely modern California Fresh Cuisine. JRDN Bar and Lounge is a social indoor and outdoor venue offering a unique experience that is both casual and sophisticated. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the crowd, hip yet comfortable - all enjoying the view of the ocean while sipping hand-crafted signature cocktails and exploring one of San Diego's most creative wine lists.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I ordered the pan seared trout and husband had rib eye steak. The steak was good and the au poivre reduction tasty. The au gratin potatoe side dish was crunchy and flavorful. He loved it as did I. My trout was just a joy to eat. It had a nice crunchy crust with a to die for sauce. The plate additions were delicious, bok Choy, pearl onions, broccolini, scattered with caviar that burst in my mouth in perfect flavor compliment to the dish and the excellent sauce. Service was fine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    65
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Don't rush your lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I visited this place on a Sunday morning and it was packed. You have the option to dine in or patio. The patio takes longer. We opted for the patio and we waited about 30 minutes to get a table. This is situated right next to the beach. You can see surfers and all kinds of sports fanatics passing by. There is valet parking for customers in case you do not find a parking spot on the streets.

There were three of us in the group and each was happy and content with the food that we ordered. We were happy with the meals because ingredients were very fresh and tasted delicious. One ordered salad and it came with a few raspberries that looked like they were just picked. Our server was very attentive despite his busy workload.

Yes, this is San Diego and if you look at the price, it is pricey. But it comes with the territory.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful vibe and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Loved the food, service was great, view was great. Try to sit outside if possible. Try the lobster BLT!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Put on your make-up before brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a wonderful brunch location. My husband and I stopped here on our drive from San Diego to LAX and had some wonderful food. The location is top-notch and allows for some great people-watching.
The service is a little pompous and the crowd were very "beautiful," which didn't hamper our experience at all.
When asking for a recommendation from our waiter, a response of, "It's all good." is not adequate.
Food was as-described, prompt and delicious. The drinks looked appealing and free-flowing (despite being 11am!) and yet there were no fresh juices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Fabulos menue but kitchen cannot answer up to it. They want to be fine dinning. We are used to eat such, but were disappointed by the waiters being uninformed, and the food prepared by unprofessional people.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.