We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A prince among paupers...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant

JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant
723 Felspar Street, Tower23 Hotel, San Diego, CA 92109
858 270 2323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mission Blvd.
Transit: MTS stop is available one block east from JRDN Restaurant. Mission and Felspar. Please see host for taxi requests.
Description: Chef David Warner fuses together the absolute best of contemporary steak and seafood restaurants at JRDN, our ultra-sleek oceanfront dining room. Focused on the future of culinary arts, Warner utilizes hand selected, all-natural meats, the finest seafood from sustainable sources and locally grown and organic produce to create a uniquely modern California Fresh Cuisine. JRDN Bar and Lounge is a social indoor and outdoor venue offering a unique experience that is both casual and sophisticated. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the crowd, hip yet comfortable - all enjoying the view of the ocean while sipping hand-crafted signature cocktails and exploring one of San Diego's most creative wine lists.
Scotland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A prince among paupers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I were delighted to find such an 'upscale' restaurant in this part of town. Service was very attentive and the food was served impeccably. I had prawns to start... my wife had a salad - both dishes were excellent. I had the swordfish as a main course, my wife had a steak - again, as good as it gets. We shared a lemon tart and finished with a tea and a coffee. Oh... and a very fine bottle of 'Cloudy Bay' - great to see it on the menu and at a very reasonable price (60 dollars.) Certainly the best meal of our Californian holiday and one of the best ever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    73
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Inremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here with great expectations and the most important part of the evening, the entrees, fell completely flat. I would recommend this spot for drinks and bar food. Skip the overpriced and unremarkable entrees.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The juxtaposition of smart but casual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just had dinner with my husband and children. Was a tad fearful that it would be too upmarket for a couple with a young family but they were more than welcoming, with child's menu at the ready. How ever, as we were all feeling in need of pure beef, we all had steak in one shape or form, declared delicious by everyone.
Beautiful setting, pretty chic, cool bar, wonderful staff - a real treat to sit down with crisp white cloths and napkins. Will recommend to everyone!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great location, great waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time here. Nice location, right on the beach walk, nice ocean view, very eclectic inside. Food was moderate to High price, prevention excellent, waitress, Megan was very attentive. Free parking under building Tower 23. The bar was a little noisy, the ceilings and floors are hard surface. Some sound softening would be welcome. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great night here, our best restaurant experience in months. We asked for a patio table when we made our reservation and were seated at a nice table immediately upon arrival. Julianna and Zach were attentive and amazing. The food was perfect, our steaks were prepared exactly as ordered. I recommend the roasted squash with coconut curry, a strange combination, but really good. The "make your own salad" is nice, no asking to leave something off! We've never eaten in the inside dining room, but it seemed noisy when we walked through after we finished dinner. JRDN is a nice restaurant with an amazing view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JRDN Surf: Sky: Spirit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.