We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforatable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6639 Mira Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #79 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comforatable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here for a work related trip and stayed 2 nights. I found the accomadations very nice. The hotel was recently refurbished and is very comforatble. They even give you popcorn for the microwave and good coffee in the room. The rooms have everything you need. pots, pans , dishes, glasses. Full kitchen with large refrigerator. The market downstairs has microwavable food if you dont want to go out.

The location is excellent and there are plenty of places to dine and shop within walking distance. The Breakfast is good and on the house. I definetly recommend .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maruja A, Guest Service Agent at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Darryl,

We would like to thank you for the good review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and met your expectation.

If you need help with your future reservation please call us at 858-453-5343

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
43
9
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Their service is great, brand new rooms I was told. My favorite part was the bed. I usually cannot sleep in hotels, but their beds are fabulous. I was visiting friends in La Jolla and their location was perfect for me. My kids enjoyed the pool all day long

Room Tip: We had the one bedroom room for only 10 dollars more than their smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maruja A, Guest Services Agent at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi,

We are thankful that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I personally want to thank you again for your positive feedback. If you need help with your future reservation you can call us directly at 858.453.5343.

Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is under construction with room renovations but that didn't effect our stay. We had a 2 bdrm/2 bath suite on the 4th floor. The room had been recently been renovated and was very nice. We heard no construction work being done at anytime during our stay. There was a king bed in the larger bedroom along with a sitting chair and TV, a pullout couch in the living room (didn't use) and a queen bed, which was more like a double, in the other much smaller bedroom with a TV. When I called the hotel directly before making the reservation I specifically asked if there was one or two beds in the second bedroom and told there were two. We needed one for a child but ended up putting her on the floor because there wasn't one and she needed to be by her parents.

Everything in the kitchen was new. Glasses, plates, silverware, toaster, and coffee pot were all provided and in new condition. There is also an apartment sized refrigerator, a 2 burner electric stove and a table with 4 chairs. A larger TV was in the living room and WiFi was free.

Our only real complaint was the breakfast every morning. Our stay was over Labor Day and they were understaffed for the crowd. They quickly ran out of almost everything and didn't restock until asked because they were too busy trying to keep up with the clean up. You had to be there as soon as they opened to get what you wanted. At one point they were out of eggs, milk, apple juice, danish and yogurt. Another waffle maker would have sped up the waffle making process considerably. They only had one and the line was always 5 deep, especially with all the kids that were there that weekend. A $50 investment would relieve a lot of wait time. The dining room was very large, compared to other hotels where breakfast is included and handled the crowd nicely. Had they been able to keep up with the food demand I would have given it 5 stars.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is under renovations. This was not mentioned when we reserved or any place on website.
When we arrived we were told the room we reserved was not available. We arrived at checkin time and were told instead of the two bedroom suite we reserved we would haveto take two studios. This was very disappointing as we would not have stayed here As it was a little far from the things we wanted to enjoy in San Diego. we had looked for an accommodation with two bedrooms so that we could easily help with our grandchildren .instead we were in separate rooms and down the hall.
The breakfast was poor, all cold cereal, no toasters. There were eggs but they kept running out.
Staff was friendly which is the reason for 2 stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear lilyspal,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am delighted you found our staff friendly. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the renovations as well as your room accommodations and the breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in San Diego you will give our hotel another try.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Waited about 40-50 minutes at the lobby without any other guest.
The room was not clean and pillows were not arranged stacked randomly without pillow cover. There was an issue with thermal controller. The temperature control of auto mode is not working. So I called front desk and lady came and explained the problem. At first time, she asked me use the room as is continuously. The new room does not have any TV remote controller at this time Not to mention about breakfast, that was one of the most bad breakfast. Most of time, there was something missing such as plate, food and so on. It was quite lower than average holiday inn hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear macboy72,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service and cleanliness. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice spacious rooms with kitchenette, refrigerator. They have laundry facilities (washing machine and dryers) for guests. The complimentary breakfast is average though and could be improved. Located about 15 miles from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed at various hotels with suites since we have had children because we like to have two separate bedrooms. This was the smallest and most disappointing hotel yet. The "full kitchen" is a double burner electric top on the counter and no oven. There was a dishwasher and microwave with a full frig but the space was so small any substantial cooking would be impossible. The hotel was under renovation when we arrived, which we were not told of when we booked directly with the hotel so there was no pool and no hot breakfast. Most devastating for our kids who love to swim and after a week of eating the hotels "take and go" breakfast of cold cereal we were ready to get out of there.
They told us our room was already remodeled. I hope not because one of the seats at the table was completely broken and the TVs were ancient! The website says DVD players in all the rooms so I brought DVDs for my kids to watch. There were no DVD players. Housekeeping was even worse. The light daily cleaning of garbage, bed making and switching towels was often non-existent. We started putting the garbage once full in the hallway to be emptied and noticed many others doing that as well. We also started taking our own towels from the hotel carts because they never got refilled. With a 5 y/o and 2- 2y/os the floor got messy with food in the living room and kitchen but they only provide full room cleaning 1x/week and there isn't a broom or vacuum sweeper available for you to use yourself to clean. And that 1x/week clean never came for us, they said we were supposed to schedule that upon check-in but it was never mentioned to us at check-in. Since housekeeping is non-existent I would recommend bringing kitchen cleaner for the counters and table so you can keep it clean throughout your stay and a small travel broom. They do provide paper towels and dishwasher soap but I brought a couple tablets of my own and we ended up using them. They also provide dish soap and there are pots and a pan, some plates, cups and Pyrex containers. No strainer for spaghetti.
So overall, this hotel was like a basic 3 star hotel, nothing fancy, nothing fantastic. Located in an industrial area. One positive was a small complex next door to the hotel with various little eateries featuring different food, a grocery store, liquor store and hair/nail studio. We enjoyed this little area more than our hotel.
When traveling back to San Diego, we will definitely stay somewhere else, a little closer to all the fun and hopefully at a little nicer place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa

Address: 6639 Mira Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa! Located just minutes from I-805 and I-15, we put all of the wonderful things San Diego has to offer at your fingertips! Nestled within San Diego's Telecomm and Biotech Corridor, we are also a quick drive to Sea World, La Jolla, Lego Land and the North County beach communities. Next door you'll find a shopping center complete with over 15 restaurants including: Thai, Greek, Mexican, Sushi, and Indian cuisine, BevMo, UPS Store and a Fresh and Easy Grocery store. All of our spacious suites feature our newly upgraded bedding as well as a fully equipped kitchen. We also offer premium cable, complete with international channels, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Our 24 hour guest service staff are always on call to help make your stay with us exceptional. Please make yourself at home and get comfortable at the Staybridge Suites in Sorrento Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites Sorrento Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.