We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food, a but pricey but worth it for certain items” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Davanti Enoteca

Davanti Enoteca
1655 India Street, San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 237-9606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very good food, a but pricey but worth it for certain items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

They have a flatbread served with honey comb. this is absolutely delicious. HIGHLY recommended. it is very expensive for what you are getting and they charge extra for the honeycomb which you must have with it. One usually isnt enough of the honeycomb so it is a pricey item. I believe about $20 after all is said and done, but they also have great beets, cauliflower, and other interesting dishes. you can go with small plates or a full sized meal. Service was ok. they made several mistakes but they did give us a free dessert at the end to make up for it- not that we needed more food at that point. I do recommend the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Refreshing take on Italian Cuisne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently dined at Davanti Enoteca and was both surprised and pleased by their refreshingly unique menu. The restaurant is comfortable yet classy and is located in the heart of Little Italy. The servers were actually Italian and seemed pleased to be helping you. I ordered the Chicken liver pate as a starter which comes with warm rustic bread. This was a great start. For my main I tried something that I had never had before which is rare because most restaurants have menus that are fairly predictable. I ordered the uni and crab linguine which is something I would order over and over again. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to those who are adventurous yet enjoy comfort food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“They think highly of themselves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for an Italian lunch while in Little Italy and decided to give Davanti a try. We had bruschetta, one of the pastas and a polenta with ragu sauce.
Now, I'll start off by saying that the food wasn't horrible, the flavors were pretty good, but I would consider it more Italian inspired than actual Italian. The pasta was not cooked long enough to even consider al dente, the flavors were a bit of an odd combination and the portions were quite small (except for the bruschetta).
And to give some reference, yes, I have been to Italy and know what real Italian food is like, this was not it.
Had the prices been half of what they were, I would've been okay with it. But I'm apparently paying for a pretentious atmosphere and the Little Italy address, which I refuse to do again.

Not a horrible meal, but there are much better places in Little Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful lunch at Davanti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

While touring Little Italy in San Diego we dropped into Davanti's for lunch. Sat in the open back patio away from the street crowd. Had a wonderful young lady for a server who was very welcoming and efficient. We shared a salad, a Margherita pizza, a roasted tomato pesto salad and a bottle of Prosecco. A wonderful combination for lunch. Can't say enough about the pizza and tomato salad, both were exceptional.
The pizza was thin crust with lots of mozzarella, the tomato salad was out of this world for taste.
The dinning experience here was wonderful and we recommend this restaurant as a good Italian eatery.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yet another restaurant...overestimated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The restaurant looks nice, and some of the items in the menu are actually pretty good. But, being Italian, i would say that the taste is not quite right. Good fish and good starters but forget risotto: the worst I ever had probably. Too expensive for what you get

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davanti Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to Davanti Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davanti Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.