We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outside area with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Davanti Enoteca

Davanti Enoteca
1655 India Street, San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 237-9606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great outside area with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Davanti's for lunch with my wife. We enjoyed the Pear, walnut and honeycomb appetizer. I had the Davanti burger (don't recall the name of it, but it's the only one on the menu), very tasty, the sauce on it was great. cooked just the way I liked it (medium) with a mountain of hoe string fries. The appetizer with my fries were enough for my wife. The server was attentive which is always enjoyable. We have been here a few times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had the prosciutto arugula pizza, as well as the veal and prosciutto meatballs & the cauliflower antipasto. All were absolutely delicious. I never thought I would even think about ordering cauliflower at a restaurant, but it was exquisite. It's too bad I live far because I would love to come back and try their focaccia, cured meats, and other very intriguing items on the menu. The service was good, and I loved the decor. I will definitely come back on my next trip to San Diego. Next time I won't skip dessert though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Limoncello Martini awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great courtyard, excellent limoncello lemon drop martini, grilled octopus wonderful. Staff from front greeter to hostesses to servers were very friendly. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Different...but great service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Interesting food, great service, fantastic courtyard, good wine...what more do you want! Not your traditional Italian...but change is as good as a holiday...well worth a try!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious yum lots of unique dished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a find! We will go back. The dishes were great and fresh. We had little ear sausage broccoli rob dish yum! Fresh fish,great,best cooked octopus iVe ever had smooth not chewy. The sausage and cheese plate excellent,beet salad all served family style make for fun evening. The back patio is pleasant not to noisy. I almost hate to review as they don't take reservations a d I wasn't to go back, but don't want a big line,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davanti Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to Davanti Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davanti Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.