We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical Hotel Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Seas Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seven Seas Cafe
411 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 230 Coffee & Tea in San Diego
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: In the Best Western.
Restaurant details
Description: In the Best Western.
Yuma, Az.
2 reviews
“Not a typical Hotel Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were expecting your (stereo) typical hotel/motel type ox experience. Not so. The Seven Seas was a pleasant surprise in the quality of food, the selection, and the service. The prices were also a surprise especially compared to a lot of the other restaurants in the area. much lower than you would expect to pay for a really great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, good food for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I ate here while staying at the Best Western (AVOID THE HOTEL). The waiter Senad was fast, polite and did an excellent job. He and his assistant need a raise. The food was good for cafe style.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We thought the prices were pretty standard for lunch, and truthfully, the restaurant is designed for guests in mind, and they gave us a 25% off coupon AND another 15% off coupon. We used the 25% off coupon for lunch, and I had a delicious turkey & stuffing, and my wife had a chicken wrap that she enjoyed. The service was great, and we have no complaints. The view was excellent with palm trees all around. Would recommend to anyone staying at the hotel, or anyone in the area that isn't going to whine about $15 a plate for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravette, AR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We ate here 3 times while staying at the Best Western for Comic Con. The food was really good... the pizza and the appetizer platter were especially awesome (my fave part was the chicken strips). As good as the food was, the staff was BETTER. They were really sweet and personable and made you feel like family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
“The food was good, the staff very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This restaurant is connected to a Best Western at the east end of Hotel Circle South. As I write this, I am staying not far away at a pretty good hotel with a poor restaurant, so maybe my review is a notch higher than I would have given it without that comparison. However, I don't think it's far off the mark.

I had the southwestern bean soup (described by the staff as being "like chili, only not as spicy", and that is fairly accurate. I also had the large house burger special, a big bacon cheeseburger with barbecue sauce and a generous side of fries. The soup was tasty (though served cooler than I would have liked, my only complaint about the meal), the fries were big but crispy, the burger was fine, and the refills on my iced tea endless. I enjoyed it very much. The meal may have been a tad bit overpriced (which seems endemic to this area next to UC San Diego and near enough to Sea World by auto to draw that crowd), but I didn't regret paying the check since I came away well fed and happy.

There were two waitstaff covering a moderate sized Saturday evening crowd, along with a manager, and they were all smiling all the time I was there. Service was fast and cheerful. While I wouldn't drive across town to dine here, I'll remember it the next time I'm staying nearby.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seas Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seven Seas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Seas Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.