We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stop at Gaslamp Tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaslamp Tavern

Gaslamp Tavern
868 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 239-3339
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #446 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Everett, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great stop at Gaslamp Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We try to stop by the Gaslamp Tavern whenever we are in San Diego. And as always we are never disappointed, great crew great eats cold beer, how can you go wrong

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My friends and I were trying to find somewhere for easy dinner and drinks on a Saturday night and settled on the Gaslamp Tavern based on TA reviews. I don't get where all the excellent reviews are coming from since it appeared to just be a standard bar to me, I had a pizza which was doughy and bland.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAINE
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Feel like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place won't be for everyone, but it's definitely a great spot.
I happened upon it because there were plenty of people wearing football jerseys (at least 8 teams represented) on a Sunday.
The locals introduce themselves, the bartenders remember your name (and your beverage) and the bar food is well above average.
It's a place where the windows are open, people smoke, someone will order a shot. I like how the staff readily shouts out to regular customers who happen to walk by the street.
If you're looking for pompous high class, go elsewhere. If you want real San Diego, this is a great spot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great bar, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very friendly staff serving well priced food and drink.Happy hour 3 till 7 with a great range of drinks and plenty of screens showing live sport.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Cobb Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ate here twice in the week we spent in the Gaslamp. Fun atmosphere. Outdoor seating. Great food and drinks. Friendly waitstaff

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaslamp Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gaslamp Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaslamp Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.