We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royally good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Royal Thai Cuisine
467 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6911
619-230-8424
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Downtown San Diego location. There are two others (Newport Beach and Laguna Beach, see URL for details).
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“royally good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed the food at Royal Thai so much that we went back again. First time, there was a group of 9 and they promptly arranged a few tables together with no fuss and has us seated and drinks in no time. Friends recommended this restaurant, especially the royal duck. It was a huge portion of 1/2 crispy duck on a nicely decorated platter that could easily have been for 2, and steamed rice. My husband had the full meal selection including appetizer, soup, main and dessert, all of which was $17.95. Wine prices were very reasonable as well. So dinner for 2 including gratuities was $60, and service was prompt and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    40
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were very pleased with our dinner. Good variety.

I had a salad and spring rolls rather than a full meal. Large portion sizes.

The others in my party ordered from a prix fixe menu. Large portions, reasonably priced for all that they got. Appetizer, entree, dessert. Although I didn't have any of their meal, they were very pleased. One member of our party returned a couple nights later.

Good location, in the heart of the Gaslamp district. If I were in the area again and craving Thai, I'd return.

Good service as well and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Food, Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had dinner at the Royal Thai Cuisine on April 23, 2013. I was promptly seated and given a menu upon arrival. The menu contained an extensive variety of Thai cuisines. I ordered the Oodles of Noodles along with a Sam Adams beer. I received my food within 5 minutes after placing my order. My meal contained a very generous serving of thai noodles with chicken and shrimp along with a variety of vegetables. My dinner was cooked to perfection, and everything tasted good. The price for my dinner was $10.95, which is very reasonable. If you are looking for good tasting thai food at very reasonable prices and good service, the Royal Thai Cuisine is a viable option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Quite satisfied for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We wandered in off the street and got the 4 course menu special. We were pretty pleased. Fast service, and decent food. Our entrees were not very spicy, though. They tasted more like Chinese than Thai. But the Thai iced teas were yummy, and we went away quite satisfied for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty lunch place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good! I had the chicken pad thai, my go-to dish if I am in a hurry. They were quick and responsive. Great lunch specials and the prices are great! Not very expensive and the quality and quantity of food is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.