We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royally good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai Cuisine

Royal Thai Cuisine
467 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6911
619-230-8424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,192 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Downtown San Diego location. There are two others (Newport Beach and Laguna Beach, see URL for details).
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“royally good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed the food at Royal Thai so much that we went back again. First time, there was a group of 9 and they promptly arranged a few tables together with no fuss and has us seated and drinks in no time. Friends recommended this restaurant, especially the royal duck. It was a huge portion of 1/2 crispy duck on a nicely decorated platter that could easily have been for 2, and steamed rice. My husband had the full meal selection including appetizer, soup, main and dessert, all of which was $17.95. Wine prices were very reasonable as well. So dinner for 2 including gratuities was $60, and service was prompt and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    14
    38
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were very pleased with our dinner. Good variety.

I had a salad and spring rolls rather than a full meal. Large portion sizes.

The others in my party ordered from a prix fixe menu. Large portions, reasonably priced for all that they got. Appetizer, entree, dessert. Although I didn't have any of their meal, they were very pleased. One member of our party returned a couple nights later.

Good location, in the heart of the Gaslamp district. If I were in the area again and craving Thai, I'd return.

Good service as well and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food, Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had dinner at the Royal Thai Cuisine on April 23, 2013. I was promptly seated and given a menu upon arrival. The menu contained an extensive variety of Thai cuisines. I ordered the Oodles of Noodles along with a Sam Adams beer. I received my food within 5 minutes after placing my order. My meal contained a very generous serving of thai noodles with chicken and shrimp along with a variety of vegetables. My dinner was cooked to perfection, and everything tasted good. The price for my dinner was $10.95, which is very reasonable. If you are looking for good tasting thai food at very reasonable prices and good service, the Royal Thai Cuisine is a viable option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Quite satisfied for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We wandered in off the street and got the 4 course menu special. We were pretty pleased. Fast service, and decent food. Our entrees were not very spicy, though. They tasted more like Chinese than Thai. But the Thai iced teas were yummy, and we went away quite satisfied for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty lunch place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Food was very good! I had the chicken pad thai, my go-to dish if I am in a hurry. They were quick and responsive. Great lunch specials and the prices are great! Not very expensive and the quality and quantity of food is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.