We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EAT at The Pearl

EAT at The Pearl
1410 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA (Formerly Restaurant at the Pearl)
619.226.6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
EAT at The Pearl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #673 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fenelon St.
Transit: Show your Car2Go membership card to get 15% of your restaurant bill! Car2Go charging and designated parking on site.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We wandered in because we had a coupon. We were very surprised to find a fun little bistro bar with super food.

We had a nice happy hour drink followed by a Monday special 3 course meal. She had the beet salad, I had oysters to start. The free range chicken entree was beautifully done, moist and nicely seasoned. My Cod was light, flaky, and the veggies crisp and fresh.

We both finished it off with bacon waffles and ice cream garnished with fresh berries and a chocolate sauce.

The server, Vaughn, was friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant at the Pearl is a keeper and a must do in San Diego for us now. We may even try out their kitschy boutique hotel, The Pearl.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Strike Two--almost a strike out for the Pearl--and that's not good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

For the second time in the last two months my wife and I made a trip to the Pearl to dine--and left without a good taste in our mouths (or any taste, for that matter). We have had good dinners and service in the past at his Point Loma establishment, but the last two times we visited, we were not greeted and had to wait and wait for attention. The feeling was that you had to be part of the "in crowd" already there and seated, or you weren't going to be welcomed--and we were not. This last time, after waiting several minutes for attention, we finally asked the bartender about seating. We were told to wait for the receptionist or waitperson. We did, and waited some more. About that time, we were told we couldn't park in the stalls out in front of the restaurant, which were reserved. Parking, we were told, was on the street, or across the street at a doctor's office. Had we at the point been told we were welcome and that the restaurant and bar staff were looking forward to serving us, or just anything warm and inviting, we probably would have re-parked the car and gladly returned. Instead, as we walked out the door, we both said, let's go elsewhere, which we then did--down the street to the Lighthouse Bar and Grill, where we had a wonderful dinner, cocktails and desert in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Will we go back? Maybe.... Unfortunately, the sour taste in our mouths was a repeat of a prior visit (where we did park on the street, but still had to wait too long to finally be told that we would have to wait even longer because some tables that sure looked available were reserved....

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hip Nostalgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Who would've thought? Movie nights, wine-tasting, gourmet food in a hip/retro setting.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“STILL SO MUCH FUN !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I live in Carlsbad, so it's a good half hour trek for us to get to this "favorite" little restaurant experience. A couple of nights ago we braved the I-5 traffic (which actually wasn't too bad that day) to give their Happy Hour a shot. So glad we did. Our waitperson, Sarah (spelling ?), was the absolute reason our evening was so much fun. We sat outside by the pool, watched La Cage aux Folles (in French with English subtitles), and just had the best damn time. Sarah's recommendations were on the money...and I thank her again for turning me on to Sculpin ale...for $3 a pint ?? Seriously ?? Had to have two. Our apps were great and my wife had the truffled Mac n Cheese with chanterelles...WOW....Sarah even came by just before Happy Hour was over and reminded us that now would be a good time to order another round of whatever. Even the house wine was good. All in all, a terrific evening and it was great, in these economic times, to see a place that was busy, busy on a weeknight. Thanks again to everyone there that night....and again, especially to our waitperson, Sarah.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EAT at The Pearl also viewed

 

Been to EAT at The Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EAT at The Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.