We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hodad's

Hodad's
945 Broadway, San Diego, CA
(619) 234-6323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #254 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in San Diego for vacation with our teenagers, and our daughter had mapped out our dining for the week. Because of the ratings and the show on DDD, Hodad's was definitely on the list. However, we found it to be average at best. We were ahead of the crowd, which was great, but the burgers were over cooked. We were told that we could order medium rare burgers, but they came out barely pink. Overall, didn't live up to the reputation. Definitely underwhelming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The busiest place in OB.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in OB for over two weeks, and every day this place had a queue going out the door and down the block. The staff cope amazingly well for how busy they get. I got my burger to go, which meant I got to skip the long queue and go straight inside to order who sped everything up! The burger was amazing, and even better sat on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burgers and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hodad's is a good restaurant to have an early dinner with friends. Unfortunately, its a little hot in there during august. So if you do go during august just wear light clothing and don't expect to be fresh for a night out in town. Thats the only drawback. The burger patties are medium size in height, not to salty, are tasty, quite greasy but its what to expect in a burger. The bacon they add is soooooo good, its crispy and crunchy, tasty, its bacon. The burger seems to be pilled too high, awesome burger but its just to thick to get a good bite out of it without it making a mess. It takes some skill to hold it together. I would go back to the restaurant for a good bacon cheeseburger but for pickup. Service is good but they didn't ask ahead of time about splitting the bill and the waiters kept bringing the tab even before we were almost done, kind of makes you feel rushed. The burgers are not the best I have had but definitely are close by tastiness but like I said before I would go for pickup next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is the stop when in Ocean Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant looks a little bit "unappealing" from the street but do stop in. It is the hang out for the regulars of the town that will give you a flavor of Ocean Beach. Recommend the cheese burgers loaded with everything. Also order the basket of french fries/onion rings combination. This basket will feed 4 adults. Set your diet aside for the day! This is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had been to the OB location a couple of years ago and loved everything we had there. We were going to go back there after a whale watch, but the line was down the block at 1:40 pm on a Monday. So we went downtown. After a little time finding a place to park. We walk up and were seated right away.

Had the bacon cheeseburger and onion rings. Very good love the bacon as it is a "patty" and not strips. The onion rings are not greasy and very tasty. I would skip the fries.

So good we went back for a second visit on this same trip.

If you are ok with fries the daily special is the way to go cheeseburger, fries, and drink for less than $10 with tax.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hodad's also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Hodad's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodad's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.