We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koon Thai Kitchen

Koon Thai Kitchen
3860 Convoy Street #102, San Diego, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,640 of 4,118 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A Lunch Combo is good deal!! My recommend is the Pa-nang Curry. It was not so spicy,but tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“authentic thai in contemporary environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had dinner at Koon Thai Kitchen with our two children. This was the most authentic and fantastic tasing Thai food that we have ever had in SoCal.
The dishes are original in taste and presented in beauty. The restaurant is a great surprise in its modern interior with clean design and very friendly staff. We stumbled into it because we were hungry, we will come back because we enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great little Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went with a group of people and we were all very impressed. This is a smaller restaurant located in a strip-mall so might easily be overlooked. (parking at lunch time was a bit tight) The decor was very tasteful, the food, service and prices were excellent. I'm definitely looking forward to eating here again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Floating Market Noodles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have never been to a Thai restaurant that had floating market noodles. Let me say that i used to order this dish almost every weekend when living in Virginia and now that i have found a place that sells it here, I'm hooked! Very good flavors and decent size for 5 bucks a bowl! The tod mun pla is also really good here. Will be coming here soon to enjoy a nice bowl of noodles!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Nice Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Enjoyed a family get-together at Koons. While, from the outside, it looks like just another shopping mall Thai restaurant, it is surprisingly attractive and modern inside. Not "cheesy" faux-Thai decorations. We were a large party and the service was good and attentive. Appetizers were xlnt and hot. The menu was very descriptive and the dishes were ample and very tasty. Servers were very attentive to the degree of spices that were requested on the individual choices. Very reasonable pricing. A good choice in San Diego.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koon Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Koon Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koon Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.