We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lightnin' Jack's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lightnin' Jack's
4705 Clairemont Drive, Clairemont Town Square, San Diego, CA 92117
(858) 270-8227
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,873 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average food, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the special of the day, pulled pork sandwich with fries & coleslaw. The wife got fried okra too. Gotta say, since we lived in North Carolina for 10 years, we are spoiled on great pulled pork. So, we hesitate to order it from any restaurant away from the Carolinas. But, it sounded good & looked good as I saw a plate come out from the kitchen. Glad we ordered the slaw on the side.

The pulled pork was too wet, but had a nice flavor. The bun was very good & fresh. The dinner fries were cooked perfectly even though they were the frozen kind & not fresh cut. The cole slaw had a nice flavor, but was entirely toooo wet! It looked old, but tasted fresh. Ease up on the mayo will ya!? Glad we didn't have the slaw put on the sandwich. It would have ruined it! We both love good okra but this wasn't some of it. So much breading that you couldn't taste the okra. Too bad... we both had a hankerin' for okra.

To summarize:
Great location next to theaters. Pretty good food, but nothing memorable. Too many other restaurants in the area to go back. Checked this one off the list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    5
    0
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Thought Phil's had the only good barbeque in SD. Boy was I wrong. Discovered this place when looking for a place that would sell BBQ by the pound since Phil's would not.. Found it hidden away beside all the other food places in Clairemont Town Square. Had been to the movies many times right beside it but had never noticed it. At any rate we got pulled pork to go and it was delicious as was the sauce. If everything else is as good as this ( and I have no reason to think it is not), this place is a winner. We will be back. The guy behind the counter was really friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“SCRUMPTIOUS,DELICIOUS FOOD WITH SOME OF THE FRIENDLIEST EMPLOYEES YOU WILL EVER MEET IN SAN DIEGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

In addition to the awesome pulled pork sandwiches, with your choice to have the slaw inside the sandwich(the best way) or on the side, you have to try the Jack's famous bolt burger with a hot link and bbq sauce; yummm. I also love the not so usual rib tips, fried okra and hushpuppies.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best pulled pork this side of Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

It's just a little Mom & Pop place in the food court at Clairemont Town Square, but this is the BEST BBQ in San Diego. Great rib tips, fantastic burgers, and did I already mention the best pulled pork sandwich? Daily specials include one of their favorites with a drink and giant Texas fries for the cost of the sandwich only. Ample free parking neear the movie theater. Oh yeah, they offer a discount if you have your ticket stub from the theater. I've eaten there over a dozen times, and it's always FAST service and fantastic food. The only negative for me is the buzzing sound fi you sit inside, which is probably a bad transformer in the attic space. Sit outside and enjoy one of their draft beers.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very very good for quick...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

very very good for quick bbq

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightnin' Jack's also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Lightnin' Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightnin' Jack's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.