We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ocean bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ocean bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The recent reviews pretty much sum up my feelings. We stayed in the "suite" overlooking the ocean and what a treat to open the French doors in the morning and lie in bed staring at the ocean and listening to the waves. We brought our bikes (they have a secure place to store them) and rode along Sunset Cliffs to the south and then north into Pacific Beach, heavenly. My only complaint with the room was the teeny tiny bathroom. I realize it is hard in these old properties to increase the size of the bathrooms without a major overhaul, but women, be warned, not an easy place to get ready for a night out! Or even to get ready for a bike ride. Otherwise, nice funky ambiance and friendly, helpful staff. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't select a room overlooking the ocean it kind of misses the point of staying here. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you, Wendy, for the fabulous review! I gotta agree with you on all fronts - there is no better way to fall asleep then to the ocean breeze and the sound of the crashing waves from the King Suites.

Very nice to hear you brought the bikes along and were able to enjoy the different bike baths around OB - there's some great ones going both north and south and it looks like you found them! Yep, I also agree with you that the bathrooms are small - I desperately wish we could alter that and we are trying by adding new shelving and rearranging the design of the room but when push comes to shove they are still small beach hotel bathrooms.

Thank you again for the great review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    185
    61
    40
    40
See reviews for
121
269
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I like this place. Its not deluxe accommodations. It is a budget hotel. Location is right across the street from the beach. It is very clean and has a really cute courtyard with a fountain and tables to enjoy. It is also extremely dog friendly. Its 6 blocks away from a great dog beach. It also doesn't charge a pet fee or parking fee. All that being said, it is a VERY funky area. This area wouldn't appeal to everybody. So know what you are getting into. If street people bother you you will not like this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We flew in from Reno for a long weekend getaway. We stayed here and had an absolute blast. This was the best location. We were able to walk around and not get in a cab for 3 days! Great bars, little shops and restaurants. Not to mention gorgeous ocean views and super friendly people. The room was all that we needed. Bathroom was clean and bed was comfy. We stayed on the 3rd floor, only downside was struggling with all our big bags up 3 flights of stairs. Other than that, we felt safe and secure. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Listen, don't compare this place to the Marriott or where you would choose to stay in Hawaii. If that's what your going for, check out La Jolla. OB is rustic, historic, surfer town charm! It's chill with a cool vibe. That said, this hotel is a bit more of a motel, what it once was. The price is a bit steep in my opinion, but I assume we are paying for the location. However, I once lived in and still love OB. So, I loved my little room on the third floor with ocean view. I bought candles and vases from the dollar store, flowers from the farmers market and placed them around the room and balcony. I opened my front and balcony door in the day for light and breeze. Rooms are different from one another though. I like I had 306 ( corner room). Looked like a little charming studio. Simple and sweet. But again, I love OB. If your from Santa Cruz, you'll dig it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed there last week for a family wedding in which the bride wanted us all in one hotel. She didn't look at the room personally. She should have. Our room had a fabulous view of the beach but that was all it had going for it.
Area around hotel was dirty, hippy type of town with homeless people all around the hotel and sleeping on the beach day and night. Police were in the area alot.
Hotel was dirty. Our bathroom was so bad I took a shower with my flip flops on. Broken tiles, peeling paint, no stopper in the drain (cap for toothpaste went in and went straight down).
Wall very thin, could hear neighbors kids at 6 AM and then mom yelling at them for another hour. Street noise was all night long along with the barking dogs in the hotel and on the street. And the planes went over starting promptly at 6 AM and sounded like they were going to scrap the roof they were so low and loud.
Big portable A/C unit sitting on the floor on one side of the bed and took up most of the room on that side of the bed. Nice big sliding window but no screen, so that some one could have literally reached in an touched my husband while we were in bed. And have you ever stayed in a hotel that didn't even have a box of tissues in the room? I discoved that I had 4 sheets of toilet paper at 6:30 in the morning and there was no back up roll and no tissues. Luckily my husband ran down to the desk and someone was there to give him a roll. I was not happy to say the least!
So needless to say we will not be back to that hotel and didn't even like the area. The pier was great and the walk down to the dog beach was fun, but nothing about Ocean Beach or this hotel will be calling us back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here three nights last weekend, our Godson and his partner were married in San Diego. They booked two suites for a week, and one courtyard view room for a week also. We only had a garden view room also, but sadly only for three nights.

The owner and staff are wonderful folks who make you feel welcome and at home. This is a well maintained older Classic California Hotel. Due to the age the rooms are not the largest on the coast but are updated well, appointed and all rooms seemed to have a small fridge and microwave for reheating those left overs from one of the many good eating places right outside the door. Speaking of right outside the door, is the Beach and Ocean, just cross the street. Most rooms have a view of the longest concrete pier in Southern CA. Sunsets are awesome....plan on viewing them each night of your stay.
Although we didn't have our dog, I have never seen a more pet friendly place. The rooms have tile or laminate floors, so tracked in sand and a occasional "oops" is not a problem.

I will visit this place again, I know it will feel as comfortable and welcoming as it did the first time.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for a room across the courtyard from Newport street. Ocean Beach is a city wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I just finished an off-season 'staycation' a few miles away at the Ocean Beach Hotel. What fun! Forget dumping your money down the endless dollar hole at Vegas for a 'few days' away. Just get a room at the Ocean Beach Hotel with a view of the water and put your feet up. Fifty feet from the sand and right around the corner from the Newport Ave night life, this is the place to enjoy the funky vibe of Ocean Beach...everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean or Newport. There are courtyard dog-friendly rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.