We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Prime location, prime service, and my pooch loved it! The courtyard patio is really nice if you want to get out of the crowd a little bit. This place is dog friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    166
    53
    33
    39
See reviews for
113
249
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Don't believe the bad reviews: the OB Hotel is great! The staff were wonderful, very responsive to all of my requests. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day. It was quiet despite being on a busy street. The best thing, of course, is the location-it is practically on the beach! In fact, it seemed to be the only hotel in Ocean Beach that was within a block of the beach. Close to many different kinds of restaurants and shops. I will definately return!
Read less

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I were spanning on a week long trip up the coast, and this was the starting point. We had a few hotels to choose from though our rewards program, and this one looked like our kind of fit. Of course we read the various reviews and felt fine with our choice.
The hotel is located right on the beach in Ocean Beach, which has a personality of it's own. It's not for everyone, but I liked the culture. The hotel had a nice peaceful courtyard looking out onto the beach, with a some seating areas, a fountain, and even a little shower to wash off any excess sand, which was appreciated. The rooms were clean and adequate, right on par for what I expected. We stayed in a standard room. It wasn't luxurious by any means, but it met all of our needs. While we didn't travel with our pets, the hotel is dog friendly, which was nice. It actually did make me miss my dogs!
The staff was very friendly and courteous, and helpful with any recommendations. The location was ideal, right on the corner - the pier, the ocean (including Dog Beach), and busy Newport Ave. all in your sights. The first night we were in OB we partook in the large Farmer's Market on Newport Ave. It takes up a street block with artists, food vendors, jewelry makers, and musicians. Very fun! Most anything you'd want to see in OB is a short walk, and it is not a far drive from the airport, Sea World, or downtown San Diego.
Several reviews mentioned noise well into the night, but we didn't stay on the side closer to Newport, so I can't touch on that, but on our side, we didn't have a problem with the noise.
I definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would absolutely stay here again. I wasn't ready to leave after the two short nights we got in OB - thanks for the great stay!
p.s. Don't forget to say "hey" to Woody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I am in love with the adorable courtyard with the beautiful window view of the ocean! The room was quiet and clean and the hotel was conviently located near a ton of fun bars and delicious restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and found it to be perfect for our needs. It was a budget hotel and we only had to say for 2 days. The service at the hotel is good, the staff is quite friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location of the hotel, it is on the beach. It takes hardly 2 minutes to reach the shore. The hotel itself is a bit old and dated but the services were decent. The room was also a little worn down but it was quite clean. We never faced any problems during my stay and would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

....they have the spot right on the beach. If there is something else in this price range in San Diego that is simply steps from the beach I couldn't find it. And while it is certainly true that while on vacation you can DRIVE to the beach, it's not the same. It was simply wonderful to be able to walk out the door in the morning and be 60 seconds from having your toes in the sand (perhaps following a short diversion to the Starbucks conveniently located a couple blocks inland).

If it was not for that (and the dog policy; more on that later), there really wouldn't be a lot to recommend about the Ocean Beach. For one-third the price I could have found something within a 10 minute drive that has odd furniture arrangements, a/c as an afterthought (and which did not work in our room), no bedside tables or lamps, and the smallest bathrooms ever built. I'm not saying there is NOTHING else of value here--it definitely has charm, they have a lovely courtyard and free parking, and it's definitely very clean. I think they went too cheap on the renovations, though, and it's starting to show, such as the beige paint peeling off the pink tile in the shower. And the staff were very nice.

About the dogs: They are welcome here, and for good reason--two sections of beach to the north is an off leash dog park that is simply delightful. All breeds and mutts bouncing around on the beach and in the water. High tide or low there were plenty of dogs to watch and play with. Unless you really hate dogs make sure you walk up there. Dogs are also allowed on the beach right in front of the hotel on-leash before 9am and after 6pm.

But back to the Ocean Beach Hotel...as long as you realize you are paying for the beach--and especially if you are bringing a dog--you may think it's work the price. The commercial area immediately around it is pretty worn down and dirty with a post-college football game look and smell to much of it, but there are a few excellent restaurants and a bit of fun shopping.

Room Tip: There are four rooms that a view of nothing but the parking lot, even though they are called "c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved the location. It was on the beach and within walking distance of the pier and strip of places to eat and drink. It was also easonably priced with free parking. The hotel itself was very dated and the room we had was small. Very no frills. The room and bathroom were clean. You could hear your neighbors thru the thin walls. If location was your priority and good value i would definitely reccomend this place, but dont have high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.