We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value, but hotel is dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location and value, but hotel is dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved the location. It was on the beach and within walking distance of the pier and strip of places to eat and drink. It was also easonably priced with free parking. The hotel itself was very dated and the room we had was small. Very no frills. The room and bathroom were clean. You could hear your neighbors thru the thin walls. If location was your priority and good value i would definitely reccomend this place, but dont have high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    181
    58
    39
    40
See reviews for
119
268
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I took our adult granddaughter, along with our dog to San Diego for a quick trip. We stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel during the week and loved it. We were able to leave our dog in the room. The manager/owner advised that if there was an issue with noise, etc., he would call us on the cell phone, as we went to Sea World for the day. Sea World is 5 minutes away by car and wasn't at all busy. We enjoyed Wed. PM on the main street because it was the old fashioned, close the street, farmer's market and music. My granddaughter had never had that kind of experience and can now understand Grandpa and Grandma's love for our history...it doesn't get better than that. The beach is open before 9AM and after 6PM to leased dogs (clean up after them) and our dog had the best time of her life (she slept all the way home). There is an off leash dog park just down the beach as well. I say, if you want to do San Diego...don't hesitate to enjoy this area ! You can definitely spend more money at a different location if you want, but you can't get closer to the real ocean lifestyle.

Room Tip: Ground floor with outside enclosed patio for travelers with pets, they have a balcony on the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is old but we were able to stay in one of the remodeled rooms. Strange layout of room but worked okay. Bathroom is very small and needs more shelving. Water temp varied if someone else in hotel was using water. the size and remodel of shower area is great! Lighting needs to be improved, and would have liked screen doors on the slider so we could keep door open during the night. Location is great, there are many restaurants/bars right on the street so walking everywhere is not a problem. No in room coffee so had to bring my own, but at least I knew that before arriving at hotel. Many homeless people in this area but never a problem. Would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room and towards the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is terrible. This is quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
1. Very loud AC
2. Leaky ceilings
3. Homeless people begging outside entrance
4. Bright lights in hallway creating daylight conditions in the room
5. Every plane that takes off at SAN flies over the hotel
6. Pets are allowed and bark
7. Crack heads walking the surrounding area.

Spend a little extra and stay someplace nicer.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The pet friendly rooms are on the first floor and your room opens up onto a dog friendly patio equipped with tables that hold water bowls for your dog, a dog shower area and the other dog owners are in the rooms around this patio so dog lovers are your neighbors.

The room has a fridge for human and dog treats.

The bed is comfortable,

Not only is the hotel nice but all of the restaurants nearby are pet friendly.

The dog beach is a dog walk away.

By far this the best dog friendly hotel in the best dog friendly location near San Diego.

I have not even mentioned the relaxing sounds of the ocean which is just across the street.

Room Tip: All pet friendly rooms are identical. Any of them is as good as any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to the Ocean Beach Hotel to celebrate my birthday, Sep 4, we stayed there 3 days and it was super, we did this also on my wife's birthday, April 25, so this is our second visit and it was fun and relaxing. The view to the beach, the way they have arranged their indoor patio is excellent. The service was super. Had problems with the TV, management sent 2 workers and they replaced the connection wires and a new TV. Love the cleanliness and the way all in the hotel tries to make your stay more pleasurable. Restaurants right next door and the city of OB, right behind it. Fun place and highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed one night and got full ocean view room on third floor (#301) by getting there a little before 3 PM check in. The view was spectacular and I could lie in bed right next to open balcony doors and hear the waves and see them break right across the street yards away. Room and especially bathroom was small but king-size bed was fine. Downside: expensive of course (over $200/night, after Labor Day), no elevator, and a lot of plane noise from nearby airport takeoffs. But cannot get a room closer to the water than this; closer to the waves than The Sea Sprite in Hermosa Beach in LA, although the neighborhood/beach is better there.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a full ocean view room; room 301 for example. Significantly more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.