We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I live in OB and always recommend this hotel when friends and family want to come visit.
Nice, clean and right on the beach! Friendly staff is always a plus, and they have some of the friendliest.
I will continue to recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! It means a great deal to us to be recommended by the local community and we take a lot of pride in that. We indeed strive to be the Friendliest of the Friendly and will continue to make sure our guests receive the best in customer service. Thank you again for being an OBecian that sends your friends and family our way. We look forward to seeing you and them in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    189
    64
    41
    40
See reviews for
126
276
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came out for my 50th birthday, Christmas, and New Years. The staff at the hotel were phenomenal in filling any requests we had. The hotel coffee was suprisingly good and all the close by ammenities allowed us to take in meals, football games, and drinks without ever having to get in the car. The courtyard was the perfect place to hang out and read a book while doing laundry in their washer and dryer. Even when it was windy, I could sit outside and be comfortable yet still have a view. The only "issue" was that when anyone stayed in the room directly above us, it sounded like they were playing basketball--I think because the floors are all tile or laminate. I actually like the laminate flooring--it works when you have a dog--the smell of "wet dog" does not linger like in carpeting. We stayed for 12 nights and would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were considering a week long stay in San Diego, but we're hesitant to do it because we were traveling with our dog and this was part of a three week trip rot CA.
After seeing the website and reviews we decided to test their "price guarantee". I am pleased to say they do stand by their word of matching rates of comparable hotels. Because of this we were able to stay at the hotel for 8 nights.
I was concerned about noise levels and brought ear plugs to use, but we did not need them, the set up for the room with two double beds is great and there is a half wall that separates the room with beds at opposing walls.
Our son slept on the bed closest to the patio and street,we slept on the bed closest to the courtyard. We truly enjoyed our stay at this property.
The patio is nice for a pet, and the views of the pier and ocean are great even on ground floor level.
At check in we asked if the street noise was bad, could we switch rooms, they said absolutely!
We had a couple of issues with the sink leaking and the toilet not flushing well, but again they offered to gives us a different room, we did not want to move all of our stuff, so they just gave us the key to the room next door until the maintenance person was able to remedy the situation.
Location can not be beat. the dog breach is a short walk down the beach/street.
The had a fridge and a microwave so we were able to bring leftovers and eat them on evenings we did not feel like eating out.
The proximity to the main street at ocean beach was great and it was centrally located to a lot of tourist attractions.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If not traveling with pets ask for a third floor room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

great little place in the heart of Ocean Beach - stayed in their condo next door - 2 beds, full kitchen and dining room, private balcony overlooking the beach and 1 block to eat at Hoodad's - it's amazing. Walked thru the main hotel - people were all nice, everything was clean but didn't see a room - so I can't speak to that.

Staff was nice, coffee in the lobby bright and early then headed to the beach to watch the sun come up and the surfers - amazing !

Location, Location, Location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here for a recent business trip in San Diego. Great location in the heart of OB and steps to the beach. Close to numerous restaurants and shops. Staff was friendly, and the room was recently renovated and nice, with a refrigerator and microwave. The view from my window was awesome, and a great place to experience the unique OB vibe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stay here anytime we can get away. this is truly our home away from home. The hotel is always clean, the staff is super, and very accomadating.. Location is perfect for dining, walking on the beach, hiking the cliffs, or just a walk on the pier to view all the sea life.Once we get there we park and never drive for evertything you need is within walking distance. If there be sure to check out south beach bar and grill, the fish tacos are the BOMB!!!! The atmosphere is so chill, friendly people that are just hard to find anymore. As for me and mine we will return again and again as long as we are able.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tularosa, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been staying here at least twice a year for five years. The owners recently completed a makeover on the patio and exterior of the building. Most of the bathrooms have been remodeled. More is to come! The view is awesome and the access to the beach, shops, restaurants, and the doggie beach are within steps.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.