We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to the beach as you can be without sleeping in sand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As close to the beach as you can be without sleeping in sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

great little place in the heart of Ocean Beach - stayed in their condo next door - 2 beds, full kitchen and dining room, private balcony overlooking the beach and 1 block to eat at Hoodad's - it's amazing. Walked thru the main hotel - people were all nice, everything was clean but didn't see a room - so I can't speak to that.

Staff was nice, coffee in the lobby bright and early then headed to the beach to watch the sun come up and the surfers - amazing !

Location, Location, Location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    181
    58
    39
    40
See reviews for
119
268
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here for a recent business trip in San Diego. Great location in the heart of OB and steps to the beach. Close to numerous restaurants and shops. Staff was friendly, and the room was recently renovated and nice, with a refrigerator and microwave. The view from my window was awesome, and a great place to experience the unique OB vibe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stay here anytime we can get away. this is truly our home away from home. The hotel is always clean, the staff is super, and very accomadating.. Location is perfect for dining, walking on the beach, hiking the cliffs, or just a walk on the pier to view all the sea life.Once we get there we park and never drive for evertything you need is within walking distance. If there be sure to check out south beach bar and grill, the fish tacos are the BOMB!!!! The atmosphere is so chill, friendly people that are just hard to find anymore. As for me and mine we will return again and again as long as we are able.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tularosa, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been staying here at least twice a year for five years. The owners recently completed a makeover on the patio and exterior of the building. Most of the bathrooms have been remodeled. More is to come! The view is awesome and the access to the beach, shops, restaurants, and the doggie beach are within steps.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and we will come back again & again. You cannot beat the location- steps from the beach and close to restaurants and shops. The rooms are not overly plush however they are clean with a refridgerator which is helpful. We travelled with our boys & the two queen beds in the room gave us plenty of room to make it our flop house for our stay. Get a room with an ocean view so you can sit on the deck and watch the world go by. The courtyard is a lovely place to eat your breakfast or rinse the sand off your feet in the outdoor shower. If you are in to the OB vibe this place is the best spot to make your casa for your visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel a few times. I will agree with LOCATION! The property is right out of Melrose Place."BEAUTIFUL" Everytime I have stayed the staff is awesome. The night I stayed I wanted coffee no the beach. I brought my own coffee but my room did not have a pot. The night girl went out of her way and brewed my coffee. OLD FASHION PERSONAL SERVICE! Hard to find any more. Your money is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ocean veiw rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We used to live in Ocean Beach and still have lots of friends there so we like to visit. Although we have friends that invite us to stay with them we prefer sometimes just to stay at a hotel. The OB Hotel has been recently renovated and looks really good now. It's the only hotel in the center of OB so once you park at the hotel everything is convenient and within walking distance. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is nice and clean. Reception area is small but welcoming. Hotel personnel is great.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are fun. They are on the second and third floors. Overlooking the main avenue an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.