We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in OB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in OB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My idea of heaven is a charming place, no fuss, no frills. This hotel accomplished everything I needed for my weekend in OB.

First and foremost, they accept dogs. You do pay a slightly higher rate (and i do mean slightly) for the doggy rooms. The courtyard is perfect for sipping a coffee in the morning, you are steps from the beach (literally, steps. Cross the street and you are there!), the dog beach is about 3 blocks away. Newport Ave is such a great street to mosey down, shop, eat, drink (!).

Free wifi, free parking, free smiles and welcomes from owners and staff. You won't get 5 star luxury, but if you are like me, where simple kindness and charming surroundings are just what you're after, head to Ocean Beach hotel. It really is heaven in OB.

Room Tip: If you bring your pooches, ask in advance for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    178
    56
    38
    40
See reviews for
119
264
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Ocean Beach Hotel is located in the quaint little town of Ocean beach. Situated directly across the street from the ocean, the beach is at your doorstep and the sunsets are breathtaking. The staff at the hotel are amazingly friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay with them enjoyable. The courtyard is beautiful and the perfect place to sit and enjoy a drink with friends...all the while enjoying the beauty of the ocean. We stayed in the condo for ten days during Christmas a couple years ago and had a fantastic time. I recently moved to San Diego but continue to stay at the OB Hotel on occasion just to enjoy the relaxation that always awaits me. I highly reommend the OB Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. This time we had a ocean view room and had aproblem
with the plumbing. We called the desk and they had some one up to check it out very quick.
They could not fix the problem and moved us to a beter room. We were very happy with
the service and staff. We will be coming back and telling all our friends that this is the only
place to stay. Again many thanks to all. BW

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is wonderful. Got a ocean view
Room with balcony. Could see and hear the waves as they crashed to shore. Loved the pier view! Farmers market every Wednesday was great. Lots todo within walking distance. Will stay again
CJ

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The friendly, and helpful staff here makes you feel like you never left home. With the 30 second walk down to the beach and awesome surrounding night life, it makes for a great romantic get away. Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the beach view, your special lady will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel desk clerks were very nice. Let us check in an hour before we were subpost to. Parking is great and seems very save. Had alot of great mexican food places next door. Me and my husband plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask not to stay in rooms that are in the corner or facing steet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is the name of the game where this hotel is concerned, for it is close to awesome eateries, pubs, fine dining and of course, the ocean. Free morning coffee, free internet, and free parking add to the draw of this charming hotel. Some of the rooms are a little pricey, especially during summer season, and we have stayed in the rooms with french doors that open to the incredible view of the ocean. But we found that the ocean view with one queen suits our needs just fine, and it's about half the price of the king suites. We don't really stay in the room a lot, but it is nice to sit out on the balcony at night with our coffee or nightcaps and listen to the waves pounding the shore. What awesome background music to fall alseep to! We are planning our fouth visit soon and can't wait to see the friendly staff again. We know we can count on finding a clean, comfortable room in which to rest our heads at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and well supplied with linens and toiletries. Best views are from the king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.