We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
palm desert
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The friendly, and helpful staff here makes you feel like you never left home. With the 30 second walk down to the beach and awesome surrounding night life, it makes for a great romantic get away. Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the beach view, your special lady will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    179
    58
    38
    40
See reviews for
119
267
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel desk clerks were very nice. Let us check in an hour before we were subpost to. Parking is great and seems very save. Had alot of great mexican food places next door. Me and my husband plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask not to stay in rooms that are in the corner or facing steet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is the name of the game where this hotel is concerned, for it is close to awesome eateries, pubs, fine dining and of course, the ocean. Free morning coffee, free internet, and free parking add to the draw of this charming hotel. Some of the rooms are a little pricey, especially during summer season, and we have stayed in the rooms with french doors that open to the incredible view of the ocean. But we found that the ocean view with one queen suits our needs just fine, and it's about half the price of the king suites. We don't really stay in the room a lot, but it is nice to sit out on the balcony at night with our coffee or nightcaps and listen to the waves pounding the shore. What awesome background music to fall alseep to! We are planning our fouth visit soon and can't wait to see the friendly staff again. We know we can count on finding a clean, comfortable room in which to rest our heads at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and well supplied with linens and toiletries. Best views are from the king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there back in June, the front desk staff was so very helpful. There are so many different restaurants and pubs in the area! They knew exactly where to guide us after telling them what we were looking for. You are right in front of the beach and pier! Couldn't ask for a better location. parking is easy and accessable. We had so much fun, we stayed an extra day. It's hard to leave when you are treated so nice, hard to find the nowadays! Go there, you won;t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Advise the reservationist of your preference. They are so very accomadating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying here and we can’t wait to go back!

Awesome location, beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean and you have every amenity.

My husband and I are already planning our next little getaway there! Definitely recommend it!!

Thanks, OB Hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on a Friday Night and there were several drunk college age students milling around. It didn't seem safe and both my son and I did not have a good night's sleep. The desk clerk didn't seem quite right either. Moved to another hotel the next day. The location is very pretty which is the only good thing I have to say but the area is very shady at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had made reservations for a room here to try it out...what a great idea. When my husband and I arrived we went to the front desk to check in. Upon giving my room #, the man at the front desk and Brad Dickson told us that they were working on several things in the hotel, and they did not want to disturb us early morning would we like an upgrade. Of course we said yes, and what an upgrade it was. The room is called the Upstairs Condo and it was lovely. The room was special with all of the extras (coffee pot, unlimited coffee, fridge/freezer, dishwasher,2 great beds-Queens).Also the breathtaking deck-all we did was sit and watch the ocean. Everyone was so nice, There was a farmers market on Wed evening, and picking up fresh veg and treats was wonderful. Brad you did us good, we will be back for our next anniversary, and probably before (my daughter wants to come). This is my destination now, Thanks

Room Tip: There are no elevators, just stairs, so if you have a problem, book 1st or 2nd floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.