We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, fair price, friendly staff, next to the beach, what else can one ask for?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms, fair price, friendly staff, next to the beach, what else can one ask for?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was supper clean, loved the bed it felt so good to lay on it. Room price is 165.00 on a weekend day, but I got a lil' discount so that was great! I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    181
    58
    39
    40
See reviews for
119
268
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was looking for a nice comfortable place to stay for a couple of nights and found this hotel right on the beach. The room is small but very clean. We were only steps away from the beach front and most of the rooms have great ocean views without the big costs. The hotel is close to all restaurants, shopping and most importantly a fantastic pier. It's only less than 10 minutes from the airport (they do not offer shuttle service - but you can contact Flex Transportation for a flat rate taxi service). I would highly recommend this hotel for families who love to be near the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If your looking for an unpretentious beach hotel this is the one. It is right across from the beach and the famous Ocean Beach pier. It is an older place with a lot of charm and the location is great. There are wonderful restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. If you are into surfing or boogie boarding the waves are consistently good. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It is the best value in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Friendly people in the heart of this sweet beach town have my loyalty and my heart. Staff are great. I would rather stay here than a larger corporate hotel with distant corporate attitudes.
This is my kind of place. How much time will you spend inside the room when you are right on the beach with a mile long pier a half a block away?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The last two nights of our vacation we stayed at Ocean Beach. The first five were spent at a high end Hotel near the Marina (which we got for a really good price) so it was a rather stark contrast.
We checked in around 7 PM and right away walked down the street to look for something to eat and were struck by the number of tattoo/body piercing parlors (and the many people who apparently frequent them) and bars with a smattering of tacky souvenir shops...That was our first impression of the area, and we were a little disappointed (and nervous) but then reminded ourselves that it was all part of beach town culture and decided to embrace it and enjoy this very different side of life we were experiencing.
The people who run Ocean Beach Hotel are really friendly, and our room was neat and clean with a great view of the ocean and cute center courtyard.
The bed was queen size and pretty comfortable, with a fridge, microwave and little table and two chairs. The floor is a hardwood veneer (probably easier to clean after beach goers) Only a couple of minuses: The headboard banged against the wall every time we moved, and we could hear the TV really well from the room next door, as well as the conversations of everyone who walked by our room late into the night. The cooler was kind of loud, and yes the bathroom had a couple of missing tiles and a little peeling paint as mentioned in other reviews but its a beach hotel and we thought it was well maintained and cared for.
If you are looking for a spa-type resort with indoor access to rooms and a fancy lobby, this isn't for you, but if you want a clean nice place to stay at a fun beach with great staff, this is a great choice.
There were a couple of great places to eat (Hodad's and Newport Pizza) and the business owners in the area were very friendly. We even got some great deals on shells and souvenirs at some of the tacky little gift shops!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel based on reviews which I had read. Upon arriving you are greeted by a very friendly staff. You are then given your room keys to which your adventure then begins. For starters all rooms have exterior entrances with direct access of Ocean Beach and several nearby bars. Upon entering the courtyard you will see that most things are rusted, worn and dated compared to the pictures I saw posted which makes it look much nicer.

Upon entering the room you realize that you have just stepped back in time by 25 or 30 years. The bedspread was OLD, no curtains only blinds which did not seem to fully close at the bottom and very dated and worn furniture. The AC was one of which was added and they had cut a hole in the wall to run the duct work. When I turned on the AC it sounded much like a freight train. The bathroom was very small and the sink had a spider looking crack throughout the entire bowl.

They have free wi-fi however my work PC would not connect due to it not being a secured connection. In my colleague's room the wood molding had completely rotted away. The nicest part of the entire room was the flat screen TV mounted on the wall.

Last but not least the hotel is located at the end of the San Diego airport runway therefore you hear every plane that takes off or lands from the airport or lands depending on the arrival and departure pattern for the runway. Given the lack of insulation in the room you can hear every plane.

There are a lot of bars close by however my colleague and I elected to head into old town for dinner and wine. We stayed out until the bars closed prior to coming back to the hotel.

If all you want is a place to sleep and prefer something close to a beach shack then this would be a great place for you to stay. If you are looking for any type of amenities I would suggest going elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff at this hotel are very helpful and pleasant to work with! My fiance and I became engaged while we were staying at the ocean beach hotel, and now are planning our wedding in their BEAUTIFUL courtyard! Very convenient location. Lots of places to eat and shop near by and located RIGHT on the beach! We'll definitely be staying there multiple times in the future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.