We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1546 2nd Avenue, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location is fine, everything important is in walking distance. Nice hotel stuff. Rooms are quite new, just the shower doesn't work well. If you plan explore the city is good choice, is in strategic place. Sleeping qualite is good. Rooms and hotel is clean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    106
    63
    24
    14
See reviews for
19
110
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Okay, by looking at my other property reviews, you know I generally stay in 4 and 5 star hotels. But, I needed to be in San Diego and all hotels in the metropolitan area were literally sold out! This property is in an almost idea location, plus includes FREE parking. Where else in ANY downtown core can you receive free parking? Front desk staff, and manager Daisy, were incredibly personable, friendly, and helpful. The room was small, fairly modern for a Motel 6, and reasonably clean. The bathroom was impeccably clean and so was the hall sink/mirror area. I take issue with the following. Detail cleaning is needed to make this property shine and receive a higher rating. For example, housekeepers could focus on one additional task per week--ie, cleaning corners of floors throughout the room, cleaning inside the towel holders, and so on. Next, the room smelled great and so did the lobby. But, the corridors had some musty smell I could not identify. Heck, Westins and other properties use electronic generated scents in their lobbies and corridors, so why not here, too? There is a beautiful outside area beyond the check in desk with great vegetation. Capitalize on this by enhancing it with a bit of mood music, some simple furniture, and so on. All in all, the property is decent and I would stay there again again for $59 to $89, considering neighboring hotels are in the hundreds of dollars. I really believe Daisy and her team could easily, affordably, and sensibly turn this property into a premiere Motel 6. This structure is an old apartment/hotel building and has some character, unlike modern hotel styles. The convenience store outside does attract some locals, but all were kind and unthreatening. This IS a downtown location, and right down the road by the theatrical center and government buildings people sleep outside all night, so this area is actually BETTER than those areas which are right across the street from several four and five star properties.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more light via windows, request a corner room. Also, to avoid some traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This Motel 6 is updated so it's slightly nicer then the other Motel 6s, however I did not enjoy my stay there. When we first checked in there were homeless men buying a room together. The homeless men drank all night and left their beer bottles all over the hallway. Also, our bathroom wasn't very clean with hair in the sink and on the toilet. Lastly, the bed and towels smelled old and like mold. Pros, it is cheap and fairly walking distance to gaslamp (though I wouldn't walk to or from this hotel and gaslamp at night because some of the areas get seedy). I think if you are just looking for a cheap place it would be fine. Not really for families or someone looking to enjoy their stay. Pay $40 more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As a broke college student I needed an inexpensive hotel for 4th of July weekend for a wedding. It is very conveniently located in downtown and with free parking also! Nothing special but a nice place for the price. I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What we like are:
- Affordable price
- Staffs at the front desk are very helpful and friendly.
- Our room was clean and furniture looks new.
- 0.4-0.6 miles walking to downtown.

What we don't like:
- The vicinity area seems to be unsafe and dirty.
- It requires tourists to about 0.3-0.5 miles (according to Google map) to find good grocery stores, and Asian restaurants, e.g. Thai restaurants, Vietnamese restaurants, or Subway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at this property several times. In addition to it's European furniture feel, it is functional. I can do laundry on the first floor. There is a mini market right next store. The rooms are clean and the price is right. I can be at an eatery or the trolley within 5 minutes. I can be shopping or seeing a movie at Horton Plaza within 10 minutes. The San Diego Bay is about 20 minutes if you are walking, maybe 5 by car. My only negative is that it can get some questionable characters in residence. Just smile and stay off the ground floor and you should be ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

As far as Motel's go this Motel 6 did everything i needed it do. Here is a short rundown

Pros:
-Location is close to Fwy and you can easily get in and out of the city from where the Motel is located. Also within walking distance to almost everything
-There is alot of parking and no trouble finding a spot, big spaces too
- Staff was friendly and was able to accommodate a request i had with no problems
- Room was clean and sort of updated
- Can't beat the price for downtown San Diego

Con's
- The beds are NOT comfortable.
- It's small, only good for one person and i was there only for one night and that was enough.
-The elevator was slow

I gave this place a 4 out of 5 because it's a Motel and for it's purpose it served me well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Address: 1546 2nd Avenue, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.