We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1546 2nd Avenue, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Goleta, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pros:
+ location
+price
pay attention to the "deal" tab on the website
+new
steady and hot water, clean interior, odorless; excellent decor.
+super helpful staffs
I asked Sandy everything, from fun to food to transportation. She gave me tons of useful advice.
Loved the places and restaurants she told me. You could get incredible experiences without costing
much.

Cons:
-No fridge
Sad thing if you just come back from the Market Outlet
-slow elevator

The motel was so good that I decided to extend my stay.
I will suggest my friends to stay here if they are going to SD.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This not your typical Motel 6. It's inside a refurbished four story building in an urban setting. The decor is kind of "spartan/modern". The rooms and public areas were very clean and the staff was friendly; even allowing me to check-in at 11am, when I just wanted to park my car. The rooms are new with modern, funky fixtures. It's just the bed that was somewhat hard.

The location is what makes it a value... safe walking distance to the Gaslmap, Convention Center and harbor. It's also only a few blocks from a green line trolly stop.

One of the many great things about San Diego is the many decent, relatively inexspensive motels that are walking distance to so many great attractions. You can add this Motel 6 to the list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinlife4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I must confess that I was a little bit worried after I read some 'not so good' reviews about this place but decided to give it a try because of the reasonable prices and location. Thankfully I did not give up this place. When I arrrived I couldn't have a better reception! Patiance, the lady in the front desk was really helpful and friendly! Check-in was pretty quick and smooth. Motel was clean and the room was nice and comfortable. Would be better if there was a safe in the bedroom though. Location is very good: Little Italy and the Gaslamp District are within walking distance and you can walk to two trolley stations: Civic Center (blue and orange lines) and Little Italy (green line). All in all, it is a very good place to stay while in San Diego. Would definetily stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyFontes2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here now 2 times and there's plenty more to come. The ladies at the front desk REALLY take care of you. U can't beat the location. It's a minute from Horton Plaza, Little Italy, a few minutes from Hillcrest, Sea World, & I-5 north and south are so convenient to hop on. For this price, this location, if you come to SD, I HIGHLY recommend this motel 6.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergiola310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a modestly priced motel in a good location and predictably this is not a great spot. The lobby and hallways are weary and institutional and smell intensely. The rooms are small but nice though not well cleaned. I wont stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this property one night. I did feel like I was in a clinic when I first entered the room. The location and value of the motel was unbeatable. I thought the bed was comfortable and the A/C worked great.
But the room was not cleaned properly in my opinion. Dirty black foot prints on the floor worn stained towels and a dead roach was not expected when I checked in(see pics). The bathroom was clean and the sink area was the same. I am unsure if I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheUglyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The headline says it all. Very reasonably priced, extremely clean, and friendly, helpful management and staff. There are numerous other more expensive hotels in the downtown SD area which, in my opinion, are a lesser value (and I have stayed at several of M6's competitors in downtown SD). If you are high maintenance, or want to have Leona personally put a chocolate on your pillow: stay somewhere else. If you want a great deal with attentive service and clean lodgings, look no further.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#175 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#168 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#93 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Address: 1546 2nd Avenue, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Motel-6 and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing