We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own shower head....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World to your Saves list
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Hesperia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bring your own shower head....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here Because it was close to Sea World. You may want to bring your own shower head even with short hair its a bit difficult to rinse with these things, like showering in a mist hose leak.. *****Check your bill there s an energy charge for electricity LOL****.. I 've heard of bed tax but electricity charges >Ok so you get a room rate then when you arrive there s a Energy Sur charge $1.77 added, Then a transient Tax of 10.5%which is close to $10 bucks then a
San Diego Tourism marketing assess 2.0% Equal to $ 2 bucks ..So the rate quoted just jumped $15 more than quoted. Consumer beware there some new quoting out there. On top of that the bed side lamp didn't work refrigerator in room not working room #241 found this out after we got stuff that needed to be kept cold. So I guess that energy charge doesn't go to electrical items. Room it self was clean and average ,pool was clean and within minutes of SeaWorld.. Staff very friendly at front desk and helpful with directions and such.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to give us valuable feedback. I apologize for for issues you had with the lamp and refrigerator in your room not working. I have addressed this issue with our maintenance department to ensure all items in our rooms are in working order. Unfortunately, we have no control over the various taxes levied by the city of San Diego on lodging. Nevertheless we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Laurence Bergin
619-223-9500
lbergin@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    27
    15
    21
See reviews for
33
25
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while we visited sea world which is 2 minutes away in the car .The hotel rooms are clean and modern and the staff were all so helpful to us in our stay .Absolute no complaints in any way , the hot tub was great and a nice pool ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We always appreciate the positive comments left by our valued guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond in terms of service. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erda, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

All we needed was a room. A room for us and a dog, at the last minute. This place had that available for just $10 more than their average rate. The place was clean, and although the "nonsmoking room" had a distinct cigarette odor and ash trays in the room, it was perfect for our after midnight arrival following 12 hours on the road with our tired American Bulldog. Convenient and friendly. Close to the highway with good access to Dog Beach not too far down the road. The pet area was clean but could have had some grass, my pooch seems partial to lawn to do his business :)

Room Tip: Parking stalls are narrow, lot is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I apologize for the fact that your non-smoking room had a cigarette odor. We try to do our best for all our guests, but sometimes we fail. We are working on this issue to ensure that all our non-smoking rooms remain free of cigarette odors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place is ok being remodeled as we speak ! Be careful of steps they still need work. Rooms smell a little stale bring Lysol and you will be ok. Frig but no microwave.it is an ok Inn not to little or to much.Ice machine need an up grade and the elevator could use some tlc. But all in al a last minute ok place with an ok price. Perfect if ur going to sea world close enough to take a break drop off grandma n sleeping baby n back to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. As you noted we have remodeled a number of rooms in one of the buildings and we plan on further upgrades in other areas of the hotel. We will continue making improvements to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay with us. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Laurence Bergin
619-223-9500
lbergin@heritagehotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UPLAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I looked at the 20 year old pictures they used and booked a room with the romance package to include roses, champagne and chocolates. Got to the "Motel", this is most certainly NOT a Hotel! First indications of this is a bad idea was the bullet proof glass at the check in at 8:00 pm. Then when told there is free danishes and coffee in the morning and told one or two pastries allowed each, second hint. Walking up the stairs and the carpet was worse than pathetic, they should remove the worn smelly crap and leave the concrete. Open the door the the room and it smelled of bug spray. Maybe this is a good thing, i didn't see any bugs. The carpet was worn out and smelled. Box TV and got maybe 10 channels. The blanket on the bed, had to be 10 years old and had see through spots it was so thin. We called to see if we could get a different blanket and were told "we have a clean one, come on down and get it". I guess i should be happy they had a "clean" one to give us (so they said). Shower head leaked, hair dryer inoperable. Oh, don't take the elevator, the trash bins are stored over there.
Check out time, asked if the vase goes with the flowers, it does not. A $2 vase and you have to leave it there?? I do not recommend this hotel at all! I could have paid another $20 i think and stayed at a decent place.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel every summer for 20 years!! We have never had a problem with anyone and yes I agree some of the motel patrons do look scary but that is normal for San Diego. You cannot beat this hotel for what you get and the price you pay. The pool is clean, the rooms are older but also clean and they have a great TV, refrigerator, ironing board, coffee maker and free muffins and coffee in the lobby every morning. The front desk staff are always very polite and helpful, they treat us like family when we return every year. We always request the same row of rooms and they always oblige us. I would never stay anywhere else, this hotel is in a perfect location to everything!! Love this place and can't wait to go back this summer!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, don't get one by the pool. That is where we stay and we are not quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin768, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your pleasant experience with our hotel. We are always pleased to hear from our guests especially when we have succeeded in making their stay enjoyable. It is our goal to provide our guests with the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

saw the pictures on the internet and quickly realized they must have been taken 30 years ago as nothing has been maintained in probably that long. Pool is closed as a health hazard, the far end of the hotel is fenced off as they said they are remodeling but I didn't see one person renovating it in the week I stayed there. There are holes in the carpet, stains on the lamp shades and all of the other guests looked to be homeless. I would have changed rooms but I got too sick to move, had to go to the hospital. The rate is good but remember you get what you pay for. The night shift girl, Tina, has to be the rudest person I have ever encountered. She needs to go work for the DMV, but I doubt they would even hire her. I have never seen such a dirty and disgusting place in my life. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Moved to the Mission Valley Resort and for the same value our room is 100 times better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Address: 3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn - Sea World San Diego Hotel San Diego
Premier Inn San Diego
Premier Inn Sports Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.