We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Tofu & More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tao

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
3332 Adams Ave, San Diego, CA 92116-1820
Improve this listing
Ranked #668 of 3,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Tofu & More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thankfully my cousin talked me into trying this restaurant. She described it as Asian Fusion and it was certainly memorable. We enjoyed the beet salad, mango chicken and ice cream ending. My cousin ordered the mock-chicken mango & pepper dish which she shared - proving beyond any doubt that this place has FANTASTIC tofu. Unfortunately, I am a whimpy eater when it comes to spices, so I ordered everything a zero. The amazing part is that it was still delicious - very delicious. We had a drink that looked like a creamy carrot juice - sweet and delicious. While I will never rival the exploits of Andrew Bourdain, Dao Fu was a truly satisfying food adventure for this plain Jane girl. You should try it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful? 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A combination of Vietnamese & Japanese Cuisine-Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Asian dishes with delightful tastes in this small neighborhood of San Diego. Both non-vegetarian and vegetarian dishes are featured on the menu....and homemade tofu for the vegetarians. I return to this restaurant periodically and am always pleased with my choices.....in fact an almost "plate licking" desire when finished....and very affordable. YUM!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome vegetarian menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I used a restaurant.com certificate, and maybe because of the forced 18% gratuity, the service was just not great. Slow and we had to ask for everything. The vegetarian menu is awesome though! They also give you free salad and free ice cream dessert. The food is good, so I'd definitely would go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful? 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable Dinner Date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The ambience at Tao is lovely; dimly lit and intimate. Has potential to be TOO intimate as me and the Ol' Man were sat VERY close to another couple. We basically had dinner with another couple. Needless to say, it was a litle awkward and it inhibited dinner conversation. Tao takes reservations for parties of six plus. We arrived at 6:30 P.M. on a Thursday and were promptly seated. Over the course of our meal, the tiny restaurant was full so I can see how one could wait a little bit during the lunch and dinner rushes. Overall the ambience was a nice change of pace. It made for a romantic, special feeling that one just can't get at big chain restaurant.

The food is tasty and affordable. I had the Shrimp Lemongrass with half jasmine, half wild rice. The shrimp was tasty and the rice had flavors of thyme and nutmeg (my best guess). As the rice sopped up the sauce, it became a bit salty for my liking, but tasty overall. The Ol' Man had one of their stir-fried noodle dishes. The noodles were crispy and very tasty. Their spice meter is slightly higher than what one might think, but the servers will be able to help you out. The Ol' Man swore the spiciness was dead on, but his runny nose as he approached mid-meal told me otherwise. ;)

The restaurant honored a gift certificate/coupon had purchased online; no questions asked. The server recognized it instantly and asked to take it. I saw many others with the same coupon. Parking might be tricky, but nothing to cry about. The furthest I've ever had to park in this area is one block off Adams Ave.

If you're in my hood, come through to Tao!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I am a new vegetarian, and quite impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Deciding to become vegetarian a few months ago was kind of a scary and confusing thing, but I knew it was something I wanted to do. Tao was on my list of restaurants to try in the area that offer specifically prepared vegetarian dishes, and I am so glad I did. It is smaller than I expected but that was cool since the people sitting next to us in the middle of the place on either side were quite entertaining; there is a separate but long table in the middle and smaller tables around the wall areas. The salad was delicious with what I think was pomegranate or cranberry dressing, and perfectly cooked tofu. We ordered vegetarian spring rolls, eaten with lettuce leaves, mint, cilantro and dipped in a light sauce, which was a lovely idea. We were asked how spicy we liked our entree and I picked a 7 then ordered the mango "chicken" and my dinner companion ordered the pork chop. The brown rice, which had wild rice in it, was the best I have ever had. Plates were huge with eye-catching presentation and the flavors were outstanding (I wish I had taken a picture now). Dessert to go was green tea ice cream, which I always wanted to try, and it was smooth and tasty. Service was excellent, prices were reasonable, and the location had good parking. I am spreading the word but hope I can still get a seat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing