We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Wok

J Wok
744 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101-6423
619-231-1088
Update restaurant details
Ranked #326 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The food was amazing. Pad Thai was delish! They don't have a liquor license yet but regardless it is well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    10
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great ambiance and service and a tasty menu. I got (and loved) the pork sandwich, which was like a banh mi, but without the carrot and cucumber. We'll definitely be going back next time we're in San Diego!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not as good as lotus thai but cheaper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice wings, poor dumplings. Very average chow mein and an ok red curry.
If you are not picky about your asian food and are not in a hurry then this place is alright. If you are then I'd not bother. I do think San Diego is way behind in most asian cuisine. Gaijin and red pearl are way better. Distinctly average..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Asian food in a calm setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is in the Gaslamp district, which is full of raucous places, but J Wok is a calm small place that serves really good Asian food at very reasonable prices. Also does take-out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, PA
1 review
“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Great food. The best fried rice. Salmon exquisite
Omg dessert was dream food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Wok also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to J Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.