We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rate, Best Breakfast, Best Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #133 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Rate, Best Breakfast, Best Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Mira Mesa Holiday Inn Express location is the best way to go! I had a pleasant experience at this location as they have comfortable mattress, top rate customer service, and you'd be eating the breakfast of the champions perfect to start your day! I highly recommend this hotel location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We have always been proud of our hot breakfast buffet and fresh cinnamon rolls. We are happy to hear that you experienced the breakfast of champions. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
12
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Like other Holiday inn hotels in the world, this one deliver a consistent level of service, it is in a close location for visiting the northern part of San Diego and very easy to find. One thing could be improved is the hotel should change their window to double glazing window to cut some road noise. But all in all, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room on back side of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that we our service is consistent with the Brand Standards around the world. I will make sure to share that with the rest of the team members. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Too many Holiday Inn Express properties seem like they were simply rebranded from an old Super 8 and made to look like a new, improved HI Express. Happy to report this one delivers on all of the HI Express promises. There's nothing especially fancy here, but it's a clean property with a friendly staff and a great location near the freeway (and just across from a Chili's restaurant).

The breakfast area is bigger than most HI Express locations, but you won't want to arrive too late since it seemed like they stopped putting food out as soon people starting filtering out. There's plenty of free parking and free internet, and it's easy to get anywhere in San Diego from here.

There are plenty of other options near this HI Express, but this is a solid value for families that want to be close to the freeway and grab a quick breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here recently, and the hotel was perfect for what we were looking for! They had wonderful suggestions for activities in the area, and they were very accommodating. In addition, the rooms and hotel were clean :-) I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
On behalf of the team we thank you for your review. We want to make sure every visit is a pleasant one. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and had a great experience! The staff was friendly and helpful offering great suggestions for the best attractions and restaurants in the area. The morning breakfast was perfect for "on the go" guests, especially if you are on your way to the beach! Next time I visit San Diego I will definitely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Your response is very important to us. The staff here are very knowledgeable of all the local attractions and restaurants and I am happy to hear that they were able to assist you. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Normally I don't write reviews. But this place has come a long way since I last stayed here in 2005. Not sure if that has to do with the staff, the managers or the chain's mandates, but it's well worth the stay now.

I was very impressed with the staff's friendliness and the breakfast spread. As a person who travels pretty regularly for business, I'm pretty critical of breakfast. I couldn't find anything wrong with theirs. It was perfect.

The rooms were clean and tidy. The hotel's location is great, too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We do appreciate you taking your time in writing a review for this hotel. Especially when you normally don't write reviews at all. New ownership and management did recently take place in January of 2013 and have taken pride in the turn around of this establishment. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was very impressed by the service and staff at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. I travel a lot of business and have stayed and hundreds of hotels. This location by far has been the most pleasant experience in a long time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are please that your stay was enjoyable. It is very helpful to hear a review from a business person who travels frequently. We hope to see you in the future when you visit San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Address: 9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego is ideally located off the 15 freeway in Mira Mesa. The Hotel is centrally located to Miramar, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa and Poway business parks including Miramar Air Station. There are a variety of restaurants and several shopping centers withing walking distance from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions; Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Oldtown, Downtown San Diego, the Harbor and Coronado, The Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and rates include deluxe continental breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
Holiday Inn Mira Mesa
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.