We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Mira Mesa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #127 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Mira Mesa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Let start by saying I have not stayed in a Holiday Inn because I am used to staying at 4 and 5 star hotels. This particular jewel of a hotel should be rated a 4 or 5 star. Why? Staff is extremely warm and great you as you walk and leave. Customer service is that of Ritz Carlton and the rooms are extremely clean and beautiful. I arrived a day early and stayed here on vacation but stayed at the Sheraton in the Gaslamp district in San Diego--and Sheraton was very dissatisfying compared to this jewel.

Oh--a must is Santorini's Greek Restaurant, Golden Bagels and Starbucks is about a mile to left or right down the main road (Mira Mesa). You must, must, must treat your kids/family to Shave Ice about 4 miles in Poway/Scripps Ranch.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the lower level or close to the dining room. Easier for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Limbicpath,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope your travel takes you back to San Diego again. The entire team at the Holiday Express Mira Mesa would be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Ria J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
11
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
YVR
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Last minute check-in last night and the service was great. The complimentary bottle of water, energy bar and chips was a nice touch. The room was very clean, everything was great. Hot breakfast was served on the 1st floor and it was delicious too. If you're looking for a good price great value place to stay, I'd recommend staying here.

The only thing that prevented me from giving it 5/5 was that we couldn't find the thermostat and the room was a little warm at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Rickheatherley,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay! I'm so glad you enjoyed your unexpected time with us!

The thermostats are located on each A/C unit in the rooms with the exception of our ADA rooms where they are located to the left of the bathroom door on the wall. I sincerely wish we had been able to assist you with cooling your room down! We look forward to seeing you in the furture!

Warm regards,

Laura C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable. I'm very picky when it comes to the bathroom, and I can say the bathrooms are clean in this hotel. The front desk staff and house cleaning staff are also very pleasant. Loved the continental breakfast, location is great too. Denny's is nearby, but I was satisfied with their free continental breakfast! We stayed for two nites and had no problems at all!!! Super satisfied!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Ren C.

Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations while you were traveling. We look forward to accommodating you the next time you're in town!

Sincerely,

Laura C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I came down to San Diego to relax during the New Years holiday. I have a very stressful job serving in the military and do not get much time to relax. On my last night, I had a female guest stay overnight.

In the morning when she left, she went to the front desk and claimed she was on the account and was checking out and without checking ID or asking who she was, the front desk clerk gave out some personal information about me.

I found out because I got a text from her shortly after. Appalled, I called down to the front desk, and the guy confessed and told me what happened. I asked if he had asked for ID or looked at the account and seen that there was no woman listed. He sheepishly said, “No”. He said he told his manager and that she would contact me to resolve this. No one ever contacted me.

Not only is giving out personal information against company policies, but it is ILLEGAL.

I attempted to contact a manager to resolve this but was given the run around multiple times. I called 7 times and spoke to 2 different people who claimed to be managers, and they assured me it would be resolved and that I would be refunded for my stay. No one ever called me back.

This situation has caused me great personal harm. That’s all I will say on here.

This hotel has untrained staff, terrible, ethics, and will not protect your personal privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear TravelerGuy356,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A two-night stay upgraded to a larger-sized room overlooking the parking lot. The upgrade was a nice bonus - the room had a king-sized bed, sofa, coffee table, desk+office chair, TV/dresser, microwave, refrigerator, bar sink, coffee maker. Well-lit and clean bathroom with enough counter space and many fluffy white towels. The desk lamp had a couple outlets, though it would have been nice if the nightstand lamps also did too.
I was able to open the window all the way to air the strong cigarette smell out of the room in a few hours (the only negative). The room temperature is controlled by an older window unit that adjusted immediately.
The complimentary breakfast is the usual HIX fare with a large variety to suit most picky eaters. Unfortunately, the pancake machine was down and my favorite cinnamon rolls were not available.
The stairs only lead to the outside on the first floor with no re-entry. You must enter the lobby for the only elevator to go up. The wait wasn't too long most of the time and the front desk staff always had a 'hello' as you passed.
Location was quite convenient - easy access to two small craft breweries (Alesmith and Green Flash), 15S to 8 for Pacific Beach/Ocean Beach and/or downtown.
Overall, a great and comfortable stay for two at an affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
SharkeyMilo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Since your stay, there has been a change in management and over the next 3-5 months we will be executing renovations at the hotel. We take your comments seriously and will do our best to ensure that there are no hiccups during your next stay. We look forward to accommodating you in the future and thank you again for your sharing your experience with us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 1 night on our way to a Mexican Rivera Cruise.

The rooms are very nice, beds, sheets, pillows very comfortable. They have a nice little breakfast that is included with your stay. They have things like coffee, tea, milk, juices, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, cereal, bagels, English muffins, toast, and some pastries.

The parking lot seemed to be large enough and safe; they have free wifi in the rooms. I can’t really think of anything bad to say, so I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jvtuff,

Thank your for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We strive to make Great Hotels Guests Love and I am so happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,

Laura C
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not only is this location central to all the wonderful things to do in San Diego, the beaches, zoo, Wild Animal Park , etc, they were all VERY nice!!
We were greeted WITH A GENUINE SMILE every time we came in, along with a "how are you?"!! The place was clean, and the comp breakfast was everything it should be. THIS IS HOW YOU DO IT FOLKS!!! The rooms were good size, with everything in working order. We'll stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Address: 9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego is ideally located off the 15 freeway in Mira Mesa. The Hotel is centrally located to Miramar, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa and Poway business parks including Miramar Air Station. There are a variety of restaurants and several shopping centers withing walking distance from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions; Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Oldtown, Downtown San Diego, the Harbor and Coronado, The Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and rates include deluxe continental breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
Holiday Inn Mira Mesa
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.