We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you're looking for !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #94 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what you're looking for !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not only is this location central to all the wonderful things to do in San Diego, the beaches, zoo, Wild Animal Park , etc, they were all VERY nice!!
We were greeted WITH A GENUINE SMILE every time we came in, along with a "how are you?"!! The place was clean, and the comp breakfast was everything it should be. THIS IS HOW YOU DO IT FOLKS!!! The rooms were good size, with everything in working order. We'll stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
11
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's clean and recent remodel, typical to most HIEs. The little details make a huge difference.

Very late arrival (2am) I get to my room to find door propped open with security bar. Front desk explained away as "Sometimes housekeeping does that". - If they really do, they should stop. For so many reasons.

About 6:45am the constant beeping of backing up construction equipment, and shouting of workers right outside window ends my chances of any more sleep.

The noise turned out to be a blessing, as I lay in bed staring at ceiling, my wake up call never arrived. Could have had catastrophic consequences. As a business traveler who lives on the road, that phone call is normally the trigger I rely on.

One last nuisance was the rate I was charged was $30 more than advertised flexible rate online. As a Platinum Priority Club member, properties have always given that rate on the late night drive-up stays without reservations I make frequently. At 2am, the room wasn't going to be sold. This property saw it as a chance to gouge.

Others might have had great experiences here, which is a testament to the HIE brand. But this property was only ordinary by HIE standards, and with the above mentioned issues, I would not choose it for future stays.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor until construction activities are done, and try to get on side of building away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Had to see a client who's office was nearby. I arrived at 1030 pm, front desk staff got me checked in quickly.
On second floor, 265, no issues with double queen room once I turned the air on.

Hotel has access to "gym" at adjoining hotel - very sad, small room, one treadmill, bike, and elliptical and old universal, room was hot.

Free breakfast was hot and plentiful even though pancake machine wasn't working.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice Holiday Inn Express located just north of San Diego (about 10 mins to hotel circle in SD). Rooms were clean and spacious. Comfortable queen beds. TV was a bit older and small (but they do offer multiple HBO channels). Breakfast was good. Coffee, milk, yogurt, cinnamon rolls, eggs, egg omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, muffins, bagels, pancakes, toast, fruit are just some of the items that were available during our stay. There were also LOTS of other eating places within a short drive. Denny’s, Island Burger, Applebee’s, On The Border, IHOP, In-N-Out, Arby’s, Jack In The Box and many other food places were all nearby. Grocery & drug stores were also close and convenient. Harrah’s Resort and Casino was also only a scenic 35 minute drive away. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently went to a wedding and was told to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mira Mesa. We got there and was greeted by the FD who was very courteous and friendly. Our room was very nice in accomodations,roomy and clean. They served a full breakfast of either pancakes,scrambled eggs,sausage,coffees,juice,danish etc, which was more than we expected. We thought we would have a continental breakfast.We only stayed two days but had we known would have stayed longer. Very good place to start your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrived late at night for a one-night stay and the gentleman at the FD was very helpful and friendly. 2-queen room was very clean and comfortable. Nicely appointed with microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom was bigger than most (a plus in my book). Didn't check out the continental breakfast or other amenities but everything looked great. Big thumbs up! Only negative: If you'll have time on your hands to do a lot of TV watching, know that the channel selections are limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here two nights on business, great rooms, clean, spacious and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel
Holiday Inn San Diego
Holiday Inn Mira Mesa
San Diego Holiday Inn
Address: 9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego is ideally located off the 15 freeway in Mira Mesa. The Hotel is centrally located to Miramar, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa and Poway business parks including Miramar Air Station. There are a variety of restaurants and several shopping centers withing walking distance from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions; Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Oldtown, Downtown San Diego, the Harbor and Coronado, The Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and rates include deluxe continental breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa to your Saves list