We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little things add up.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #133 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The little things add up.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's clean and recent remodel, typical to most HIEs. The little details make a huge difference.

Very late arrival (2am) I get to my room to find door propped open with security bar. Front desk explained away as "Sometimes housekeeping does that". - If they really do, they should stop. For so many reasons.

About 6:45am the constant beeping of backing up construction equipment, and shouting of workers right outside window ends my chances of any more sleep.

The noise turned out to be a blessing, as I lay in bed staring at ceiling, my wake up call never arrived. Could have had catastrophic consequences. As a business traveler who lives on the road, that phone call is normally the trigger I rely on.

One last nuisance was the rate I was charged was $30 more than advertised flexible rate online. As a Platinum Priority Club member, properties have always given that rate on the late night drive-up stays without reservations I make frequently. At 2am, the room wasn't going to be sold. This property saw it as a chance to gouge.

Others might have had great experiences here, which is a testament to the HIE brand. But this property was only ordinary by HIE standards, and with the above mentioned issues, I would not choose it for future stays.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor until construction activities are done, and try to get on side of building away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
12
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Had to see a client who's office was nearby. I arrived at 1030 pm, front desk staff got me checked in quickly.
On second floor, 265, no issues with double queen room once I turned the air on.

Hotel has access to "gym" at adjoining hotel - very sad, small room, one treadmill, bike, and elliptical and old universal, room was hot.

Free breakfast was hot and plentiful even though pancake machine wasn't working.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice Holiday Inn Express located just north of San Diego (about 10 mins to hotel circle in SD). Rooms were clean and spacious. Comfortable queen beds. TV was a bit older and small (but they do offer multiple HBO channels). Breakfast was good. Coffee, milk, yogurt, cinnamon rolls, eggs, egg omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, muffins, bagels, pancakes, toast, fruit are just some of the items that were available during our stay. There were also LOTS of other eating places within a short drive. Denny’s, Island Burger, Applebee’s, On The Border, IHOP, In-N-Out, Arby’s, Jack In The Box and many other food places were all nearby. Grocery & drug stores were also close and convenient. Harrah’s Resort and Casino was also only a scenic 35 minute drive away. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently went to a wedding and was told to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mira Mesa. We got there and was greeted by the FD who was very courteous and friendly. Our room was very nice in accomodations,roomy and clean. They served a full breakfast of either pancakes,scrambled eggs,sausage,coffees,juice,danish etc, which was more than we expected. We thought we would have a continental breakfast.We only stayed two days but had we known would have stayed longer. Very good place to start your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrived late at night for a one-night stay and the gentleman at the FD was very helpful and friendly. 2-queen room was very clean and comfortable. Nicely appointed with microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom was bigger than most (a plus in my book). Didn't check out the continental breakfast or other amenities but everything looked great. Big thumbs up! Only negative: If you'll have time on your hands to do a lot of TV watching, know that the channel selections are limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here two nights on business, great rooms, clean, spacious and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I love to stay at this hotel.. everything is clean.
The lady in charge of the buffet is so nice and kind, and she is always taking care of the food and cleanness. A delicious buffet !!!...

The receptionists are very friendly, very helpful and with a beautiful smile.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Address: 9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego is ideally located off the 15 freeway in Mira Mesa. The Hotel is centrally located to Miramar, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa and Poway business parks including Miramar Air Station. There are a variety of restaurants and several shopping centers withing walking distance from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions; Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Oldtown, Downtown San Diego, the Harbor and Coronado, The Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and rates include deluxe continental breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
Holiday Inn Mira Mesa
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.