We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea World ; Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4545 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #125 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
San Gabriel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea World ; Vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stay in this hotel with my family and the staff was pretty friendly. Ana the breakfast attendant was very helpful and nice. She gave us great customer service and she was always friendly.Ana was nice to everyone that walk in for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
72
46
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Red Roof Inn, situated charmingly adjacent to several car dealerships, is perfect if you’re a junkie or in hiding. If you’re trying to have fun in San Diego, you can save the effort of booking a room and find similar accommodations by sleeping in your rental car.

As I walked into to my room, I realized that it was actually the smallest motel room I’ve ever stayed in. The rental car joke above was serious - my room felt about as big as the Yukon the rental company gave us even though we had a reservation for a Fiat. The room was comically small. It was hard for my wife to get around me to go to the bathroom. Also, the high-speed internet didn’t work on our laptop or iPad, so “0” speed internet would be a more accurate description. The front desk couldn’t help with that, but the problem is common enough that there was a nicely laminated sheet of Wi-Fi Instructions on the desk in our room. It advised us to call a tech support number and explain that we were staying at The Red Roof Inn. Tech support couldn’t help, either. Anyway, fine. My phone has a hotspot. Life goes on.

After being out all the next day, we came back to find our room hadn’t been cleaned, so we had to get new towels from the front desk before going out again. Coming back that night, there was no parking spot in the motel’s lot. The women at the desk mustered all the hostility a graveyard employee at a motel between car dealerships can muster and hissed that the motel provides parking for free, but never guaranteed me a spot! She told me there was plenty of street parking. We ended up parking on the street, but only after trying to stay at two other hotels in the area – alas, they were fully booked, but the Red Roof is so horrendous we were willing to jump ship at 1230 AM and pay more to be ANYWHERE else.

Also, and more interesting than important, the paint in the shower tub was peeling. Not the paint on the wall. The paint in the tub. I don’t know why the shower tub had been painted, but there were some pretty huge holes. Some mysteries weren’t meant to be solved.

So it’s a motel with no Wi-Fi, not enough parking for its guests, only occasional housekeeping, and tiny rooms. Any one of those things and fine, whatever. All of them together? I suppose you could do worse, but you’ll get the same conditions sprawled across the back seat of a smallish SUV. Then again, maybe you’re a junkie or in hiding. If those are your circumstances, this is the motel for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room was very, very small. A man by the name Mich checked us in and was very friendly. Once we got our luggage in the phone rang and it was Mitch. He asked me if everything was ok in the room and if we needed anything. I was so surprised on the customer service. I asked Mitch for more towels and he brought them to us in less then five minutes. You can be at a five star hotel and never get a phone call to ask if everything ok. I would definitely stay here again. You also get free breakfast in the morning and a woman by the name Ana who is so sweet and friendly will make you a waffle. Again you do not get that for free at a five star hotel. Thank you very much Mitch and Ana for a great stay at the Red Roof Inn-Pacific Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Relatively clean hotel with very small room. Pool exists on site, but is not operational. All staff was very pleasant, helpful and polite. The breakfast is an added bonus, but tends to be quite congested as the room is small and the layout is extremely inefficient. There are a few tables inside and out on the balcony to eat at, but the rooms themselves have no place for more than 1 guest to eat. Ana, the breakfast room attendant does an amazing job despite the circumstances she must deal with -- and she does it with a smile and a pleasant word for every guest!
Wi-Fi is free, but very slow and experienced a lot of problems during our stay. Bed was adequate, less comfortable than most. Overall, price exceeded value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only recommendation/complaint is concerning the breakfast room. The arrangement of the room is extremely non-user friendly. Also, Ana, the breakfast attendant, gets trapped in the corner by the rude people cramming into an already crowded room. Ana was wonderful at her job. Friendly and very patient. It really is a horrible set-up for her to have to work in. Otherwise, the property & staff were great. Unfortunately, there are always inconsiderate guests no matter where you go.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter if there are LOTS of small children running around unsupervised by their p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Got to the hotel very late, staff was very helpful, room was very clean. when it was time to check out Dawn at the front desk was very helpful and it was a pleasure talking with her about her travels. Hotel is not to far from the transit system, which made our trip even better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It is a shame that your stay with us was so short, but we greatly appreciate the feedback and recommendation of our hotel. I'm sure that when you are back in the area, we will be seeing you again. I will pass on your kind words to Dawn. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoniex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is my first time here and I was shock how small the room is and that it has no pool. I found out after checking in. Don't come here for the price you can get somewhere with a pool and a room you can love around in. Really this is a very small room..

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our hotel not having a pool. We closed down our pool area last year, since it did not meet the expectations of our valued guest. While we cannot be responsible for unauthorized websites, we have been vigilant to the extent possible to remove any reference to our hotel having a pool. I am not sure what might have led to your expectation of us having a pool, but we would certainly like to know. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#127 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#56 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#117 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego

Address: 4545 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of San Diego, the Red Roof Inn San Diego Pacific Beach/Seaworld Area is near beautiful Mission Bay Park—the largest manmade aquatic park in the world. We’re within 10 minutes to some of San Diego’s most popular attractions, including SeaWorld, the world famous San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Valley view Casino Center, Old Town San Diego, Fashion Valley Mall, and University of San Diego. Within 15-20 minutes of Red Roof San Diego, you’ll find La Jolla Cove, Qualcomm Stadium, Balboa Park, Harbor Cruises with whale watching, Mission Basilica San Diego de Alcala, USS Midway Museum, the GasLamp Quarter, Petco Park, University Town Centre Mall, Mission Valley Mall, Seaport Village, Horton Plaza, the University of California San Diego, the California Western Center of Law, and San Diego State University, and LEGOLAND. We are also near many military bases and also within walking distance of several restaurants. Our comfortable rooms offer high speed wireless internet, in-room coffee makers, cable TV, microwaves, refrigerators, and hairdryers. Our hotel has a business center, and a deluxe breakfast each morning. With our easy access to so many of San Diego’s fun destinations, it’s easy to see why we’re the ideal choice for your stay!ed Roof San Diego Pacific Beach/SeaWorld has recently been renovated and has 100% non-smoking guestrooms and features a free continental breakfast from 7 to 10 am every morning, a business center with a free PC and printer for guests’ use, a guest laundry, free wireless internet in all guest rooms and throughout the building, and free onsite parking for cars, trucks, and vans. Our comfortable guest rooms have Cable TV, featuring HBO, CNN, ESPN and Disney; data ports; hair dryers, iron/ironing boards and in-room coffee makers; and free microwaves and mini-fridges in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Mission Bay Seaworld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.