We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PB Surf Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added PB Surf Beachside Inn to your Saves list
PB Surf Beachside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights as part of a trip around California combined with a friends wedding. The hotel is very close to the beach and has plenty of nice breakfast options near by - we enjoyed walking along the beach and seeing the surf competitions going on. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant. We had hired a car and had no issues with parking, and driving into San Diego (although stressful as on the right hand side) was easy and parking wad easy to find. We couldn't believe it was free to park in Balboa park! I would recommend this hotel to anyone enjoying a short break in SD, cheaper than La Jolla, just as nice beaches and close to lots of attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay in San Diego! This is such a great place to have a nice time! I'm happy you had no issues with our parking, but if you had, we do offer additional parking just one short black away. And yes, with how parking is in San Diego, I am always surprised to hear that the Zoo and Balboa Park has free parking! I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    84
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
53
92
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The rooms are clean and modern with HUGE showers. We were surprised at how updated everything was and the size of the TVs were insane! Less then a block from the beach the location was absolutely perfect. There was also a water faucet outside to rinse feet and shoes off to limit the sand you brought back to your room. The only complaint was the breakfast, it starts a little later then stated for one reason or another it really wasn't a big deal but when you have time crunching travelers every minute counts.

Room Tip: Look on Groupon for occasional lower rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I know, some of the TVs are really large, and I think they come as a surprise to many. We do apologize for the late breakfast start. Because we are closed at night a majority of the time, we depend 100% on the morning person being prompt. I have someone working almost every night now that will enable us to be able to set up everything on time regardless of the morning person's schedule. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There's lots of cool restaurants within walking distance. Also, it's great being so close to the boardwalk. They need to install curtains in the rooms, however, it gets very bright, very early! As others have mentioned, the noise from Mission Blvd might be problematic for some.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
That's the first time I have heard anything negative about the wooden shutters. I'm sure you did, but I wonder if the shutters were closed correctly. They do allow light in the wrong direction, and it's not something obvious. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed 4 nights. No complaints. Rooms modern with huge wall mounted TVs. When we needed something, service was prompt & friendly. Only draw backs ... no free internet ... Breakfast is basic pastries & coffee ... and no TV channel listing available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Yes, the rooms are new! And some of them have 50" TVs. But every room has a flat screen TV. I am working on getting free Internet. I'm guessing it should be very soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The motel was very clean, appeared newly remodeled. Parking was ok and although it was limited we did manage to find a place. The only downfall is that I am only 5'0 tall and the bed was so high I had to literally "jump" up on it so it was a bit of a hassle, otherwise it was very comfortable and it could use 4 pillows instead of only 3. They advertise breakfast, but it was only stale pastries, lousy coffee and some kind of juice. We didn't have room service, but we requestd clean towels and coffee. Got clean towels but he didn't have coffee ;(.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
The beds are fairly high. After our renovation, we noticed that the new bed frames we had custom made were leaving the beds either too low or too high. For aesthetics, we chose to go with the higher look. The pastries come from a bakery every morning, so I'm not really sure how the pastries were stale. Anyway, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. It is completely updated so it is a wonderful place to stay in PB. The location is perfect. You're very close to the beach and all the bars and restaurants in PB. The service isn't that wonderful. The guy at the front desk couldn't find our reservation and acted like it was our problem. He made me call expedia instead of trying to accommodate us and then tried to charge us more than the rate we paid for. When we asked for a hair dryer he made us come down to the lobby and get it. Unbelievably lazy. However, if you need a clean place to stay in a nice location (with free parking!) and won't be spending a ton of time in the hotel, this is great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for you comments, and this will be used as one of my training props for the month. From the two things you mentioned, we could have performed so much better. We will do better the next time you decide to stay with us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Motel was a block from the beach and in a great, safe area. Room was on the smaller side but perfect for two people. Room was very modern, had a comfortable bed and a hot shower. We were also allowed to check in at noon the day we arrived which was great and the staff was very friendly. Only drawback was parking- there were plenty of spots available during the day and around dinner time but when we got back to the motel at 10:30PM all the spots were full so we had to park on the street on the next block over. It wasn't a huge problem but worth noting. We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Yes, the parking is limited, but we do have our sister property located just one block away. I realize it's not at the property you are staying, but it is about a 30 second walk away. Generally, there are enough spaces there to prevent you from parking ion the street. I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#184 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#102 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#186 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#113 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#54 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PB Surf Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.