We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PB Surf Beachside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added PB Surf Beachside Inn to your Saves list
PB Surf Beachside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

While I can't say that I received the great customer service some of the other reviewers received, I will say that the place was way better than I anticipated. Maybe I read some really old reviews and the place has since had a lot of updates.

Our room was spacious, had lots of storage space (dresser, 2 side tables, a desk and a reasonably big closet). There was a refrigerator, mircowave and coffee pot. (For you semi serious coffee drinkers, there is a Starbucks about 6 or 8 blocks down the street.) It was super clean. They bed was great. We had a king size, super comfy bed. (Also, I'm a single woman traveling with kids, safety was not a concern. I felt safe at the hotel and in the area.)

EXCELLENT BEACH LOCATION. I wish I could type that in bigger letters.

Down sides for me were few. I was given a handicap room, which would be an excellent room for a handicap person, but for me, it meant less surface space in the bathroom and a wet bathroom floor because of the roll in shower. I was really quite unhappy about that part (considering I was assigned this room because I extended my stay).

They were always short on towels (I started with exactly two in my room, but luckily I was located close to the laundry room so I was able to get clean ones every day (since I had to soak up the water from the roll in shower).

The WiFi is not free and was irregular. This one really caught me off guard because recenlty all of the places I have visited have free wifi.

There wasn't an onsite laundry room, but there was a great laundromat two blocks away (with free WiFi.) Actually, there are laundromats everywhere in the area (just like bars and tatoo parlors).

Parking is limited, so some nights you will be searching for a spot on the street.

If you are on the fence about choosing this affordable, near the beach location, no need to be. It is a great spot for the money.

Room Tip: if you don't need it, but happen to get a handicap room, you would be much happier if you ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Sorry about the handicapped room. We are required to have a few of them for obvious reasons, and they are rarely utilized by someone who needs or requires one. However, the only real difference is the shower. The shower is much larger and is made for wheel chair access, where the others have a step over type of entry surrounded by glass rather than a curtain. If you request to not have one of those rooms, we would be more than happy to accommodate you. And, I can understand the water situation as well. I'm still not convinced the angle of the floor is sufficient to keep the water in the shower. As for the Internet, I am seriously working on making this complimentary. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    67
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
43
82
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the begining of November. Despite the long the flight from Toronto its was great staying here in a place where its very clean and modern. From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing, as they were very kind and made the check in process a breeze. The staff were very attentive to our needs and we defientely will come here again the next time we visit San Diego.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I'm glad we were able to make your experience with us a very nice one! Especially the part about travelling and being able to get checked into your room promptly! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through one of the Trip Advisor Partners approx $90 per night for one person off season, queen bed. Compared to your typical Beach Hotel in the area... Well... There is no comparison... Everything is updated, clean, sharp and modern. From the newly tarred parking lot with crisp white lines to the glass door showers with spotless grout and tile within. Half Engineered wood floors half carpet, nice French style wood blinds on all the windows which contain not a speck of dust... New doors, new fixtures, fine place.. overall well decorated, modern and fashionable but not over the top... Spartan in a sense but with some nice finishing a all around.

It was obvious the second I walked through the parking lot and into the Hotel Office that somebody cares about this place as a Hotel Property and a Business. This is not a luxury accommodation but neither is the price.

The cliff/beach overlook is just 100 yards down the road, so you're in the center of everything PB has to offer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your very descriptive comments about our rooms! We do hope you will come back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week road trip around California and Arizona. The hotel was immaculate and a brilliant location a minute walk from the beach. The beach was superb and an amazing sunset by the pier. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we got a great rate through expedia. The buses were brilliant and the day pass for 7 dollars is well worth it to get downtown to gas lamp area etc. bus 8 takes you to Mission Beach and 30 to downtown...frequent and stops nearby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Yes, the location is great for the beach and for the bus line. The bus stops only one block from the property and accesses almost any location you may want to venture to. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fantastic little place! Location is a minute walking distance to the walkway along Mission Beach to the pier. Rooms are clean and very well presented. Bathroom is modern and I was delighted to see a shower screen and not a curtain! Staff were accommodating and friendly! The price fluctuates according to season.. My husband and I paid $168usd for a room with two queens as it was all they had available..a bit pricey for November in Mission Beach?

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! As a return guest the next time, please just give us a call and let us know, that way it may be possible to get you an ever better rate! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We return here at least twice every year for the reasonably priced beachside location. Manager Jim Silver is very accommodating to special requests. Only one minute walk to ocean side trail and beach extending miles. Great for hikers, bikers, skaters. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much!! It is my job, and my pleasure to do whatever we can to help make your stay as pleasurable as possible!! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice place to stay. Was there for six nights with my partner as a short holiday. Very clean and modern. Girl on reception was pretty miserable and wifi is difficult if not impossible to get on but other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I'm sorry about the receptionist. I'm here at the office most of the time, and always try to correct unwanted and incorrect customer service. I hope you will return, and would really like to meet you the next time! Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PB Surf Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.