We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 116” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PB Surf Beachside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added PB Surf Beachside Inn to your Saves list
PB Surf Beachside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
tucson
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Room 116”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love this place! What a cute hotel...The rooms are nice as well as the beds being comfortable....The staff was super nice, especially Oscar who answered all our questions at check-in late at night. We stayed up rather late and tried to sleep in...But were unable to do so, because of some folks who were talking loud outside our door. That is not the hotels fault...It was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are very sorry for the noise outside of your door. The property is almost always full now, and it seems like most guests like to get started at dawn. It seems like theyare usually visiting places like Sea World, and the zoo, they are out early to give themselves a chance to see everything, so when they are either checking out or packing their car for the day it can get fairly loud. Thank you very much for your comments! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    67
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
43
81
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved this place. The rooms are super homey and beachy-feeling. You can walk to the beach and there are a lot of restaurants close by. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. Arrive early for parking. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to San Diego!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I really like your description! This is really a fun area for almost any guest with all there is to do in the local area. Thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed just one night here, and were satisfied with our experience. The staff was very friendly upon check-in. Our room was small, but had a great flat-screen TV and a large shower. We were on the first floor in the front. If we had been going to stay longer, I would have requested a room on a higher floor on the back side of the hotel, where there is a courtyard. We travel with a sound machine and earplugs, but it would have been noisy without them. The room was clean, and there were many places to eat & drink within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
That was an excellent idea. We did replace the windows during our recent renovation with noise as a main factor for doing this. But, as you said, their is definately some street noise from MIssion Blvd during the day when the traffic is the busiest. For longer stays, we generally try to place our guests in the courtyard area for this reason and for a more secluded private area to relax. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Randy and Alpha at the reception got us checked in in no time! They provided us with some valuable information (I.E. Where to eat, what to do, etc). Overall great service, would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It's great to read about their customer service. I am really glad to hear that you would recommend my property to others visiting the beach. Thank you very much! I do not take this for granted at all, and it feels good to hear it every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Bad issue w my third party reservation service, Travelocity, but Randy helped me through it and made it right. Very cool! Great service! Near the beach! Great value! I love PB and all the places to eat, drink and chill - not to mention all the cool things to do.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I'll be sure to let Randy and the rest of my staff know about his service. Unfortunately, not everything always goes well, but it's nice to hear that a potential problem was resolved before it became a real issue. Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in San Diego for vacation last week and spent two nights at PB Surf Beachside inn. We arrived late and had to check in at the sister property <1 minute away which was really no trouble. There was no parking available at PB on our first night so we parked at the sister property as well. Our room was located on the second floor- very clean, basic, with everything you would need for a small beach hotel room. Comfortable bed with a good nights sleep except that early in the morning we were awoken by the sound of the neighbors above us moving around and the sound of housekeeping knocking on doors. We spoke with the front desk and they readily moved us to a different room on the third floor. This room was bigger, more private, just as clean as the first. There is a deck with table and chairs on the third floor as well where we sat and enjoyed the sunset. Much quieter on the third floor with no complaints at all! Hotel VERY close to the beach and in a great area, walking distance to the beach, restaurants/bars, stores

If you're looking for a nice, clean, basic beach hotel with great location I would definitely recommend this place. Ask for a third floor room to avoid the noise from above!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The very first thing I noticed when we took this property over was the third floor deck with nothing at all on it. We now have a few tables and chairs to better allow any guest to enjoy the sun and the view while staying with us. This is definately a favorite spot for many of our guests already, and I believe the popularity will grow as more guests are made aware of the amenity. Thank you very much for your comments. I will remind housekeeping of the early morning noise. I hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a great place, we will stay again. Even with the parking fiasco, I still loved it. A block from the ocean, plenty of places to walk to. Fridge and microwave in the room. Very nice staff. I cant say enough. If you have the opportunity, don't pass it up. Great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
What else can we say, but thank you! We do hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PB Surf Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.