We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PB Surf Beachside Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PB Surf Beachside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added PB Surf Beachside Inn to your Saves list
PB Surf Beachside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PB Surf Beachside Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I lived in PB for 5 years and remember what the previous hotel used to look like. The complete make over is spectacular. Decent size rooms, very very clean. Cant beat the price considering its less then a block from the beach. Short walk to bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
The only thing I can say is that this property is a "night and day" difference from what it was before. Everything has been replaced and redone and completely modernized. I'm really glad that the neighborhood has noticed the changes! Thank you for staying with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    67
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
43
81
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay was great. Kind and helpful staff and specially Alpha in the reception was very nice and always with a smile. Good, clean room and beautiful bathroom. Location and price perfect. We can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will be sure to let Alpha know about your review. I hope you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently took my family to San Diego for my birthday weekend, and we stayed at PB Surf Inn on a Saturday night. Originally, my wife called to book the room but they would not give her a room for just one night. I went online and booked the room for one night through their website and it went through fine. When we arrived at the hotel, they did not have the room that we had originally booked and gave us a small suite instead, which was fine. Check in is normally 3pm but we showed up at noon and they let us check in early, which was nice. The property offers free parking, which is a plus because parking in PB can be a nightmare.

The rooms have apparently been recently renovated and ours was very nice. It was a little small but we spent most of our time at the beach so I didn't mind.

The location of the hotel is convenient, not right on the beach but just a short 3-4 minute walk down to the sand. It was also within walking distance (.5 miles) of several bars, restaurants, cafes, and shops.

The hotel offered a continental breakfast between 8-10am, including pastries, muffins, juice, and coffee. The selection wasn't tremendous but it was fine (we walked down to Denny's for a hot breakfast).

All in all, PB Surf is a pretty nice hotel for the price, and we may stay here again next time we are in PB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Well, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to wite your comments about your stay. Yes, every room was recently completely redone and really upgraded. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed our property and took full advantage of what the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

New name is PB Surf Beachside Inn. VERY clean, well kept hotel. Nice staff. Free "Breakfast" was poor and less than continental style, only sweet rolls, store bought muffins, juice and coffee. One morning was even weak on the sweet rolls. However, you should skip the free "breakfast" and go to Kono's right across from Crystal Pier. Great breakfast but expect to wait in line for at least 30 minutes. Parking at hotel is extremely limited but there are more spaces at their sister property which is about a one minute walk up the block. We checked in very early and got a room right away. Five minute walk to the very nice beach. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. Crystal Pier is about a 15 minutes via the boardwalk. Will stay here again next beach vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments about your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this as it is very informational to our potential new guests. I know the continental breakfast is not like a buffet, but, just to let you know, we do have the muffins, danish, etc... delivered each morning from a local bakery. I hope we will be seeing you again very soon! Oh, thank you for mentioning our new name as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I will definitely recommend PB Surf (new name) to my friends and family when I get back to Vegas! I usually stay here about once a year; always enjoyed being so close to the beach. When they told me about the upcoming renovation, I thought I would not be able to afford to stay here anymore but the price is still very reasonable, especially considering what they spent to make it so very beautiful. The staff here is friendly and helpful and there is not a thing I would change!
P.S. Be sure to check out the upper deck with covered tables and a view of the ocean; great place to watch the nightly fireworks or enjoy your complimentary coffee that's served every morning in the office. What a nice way to plan your day of "fun in the sun".

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of the sun deck. Yes, the view is very nice, and the fireworks are visible from Seaworld every night! One of the concerns I have is that some guests may think since we have renovated that we will price them out. I will continue to retain the guests that have stayed with the Seacoast over the past few years, by continuing to give them a very reasonable return rate when at all possible. We really appreciate your business, and hope you will continue to stay with us for many years to come.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I am all about the comfort of the bed. It was so comfy and the sheets smelled so clean. A big screen tv hung in front of the bed ,Samsung good picture. Very clean room up to date decor. Just everything was nice for the price. The only inconvenience was parking. There wasnt a whole lot of spaces. You don't cross any major streets to get to the beach. Less than a 5 min walk. Busy casual beach area. Would stay there again!


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Some of the rooms do have 50" tvs. I wonder if that was the size of yours. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your mattress was comfortable. Everything is new in the rooms, so I am hoping everyone will be more than satisfied to stay with us. Unfortunately, parking is very tight here, but we do offer additional parking at our other property only one block away if necessary. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked 3 nite stay. Was skeptical at first because i always stay at a "brand name" hotel. We were pleasanlty suprised with this propert.. Location is perfect. Close enough to the beach and board walk activites but just far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. Staff were great, rooms were clean and newly renovated. Beds were very comfortable... We loved it so much, we booked another weekend!!!! recommend to anyone this is nice, clean, safe place with great location to everything. Only thing i wish they had that i didnt see was BBQ area......

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have slight view of ocean and were very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
This is great to hear, and thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. It seems that, just like you, many people have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms. As for the service, we expect that to be something you and every future guest should not ever have to worry about. Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PB Surf Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.