We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the July 4th holiday. Staff was awesome and extremely helpful. We arrived early in the afternoon intending have them hold our bags but instead they checked us into our room early. Chose this hotel because of proximity to the harbor and the firework. We were not disappointed. We were able to walk across the street to a park and enjoy the harbor spectacular. Did not need to rent a car as the hotel picked us up from the airport. Shuttle service was available to the zoo daily. The trolley, light rail, stop,was directly behind the hotel for easy access all around San Diego. We will definitely be staying at this Hampton Inn on our next visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "Andrew S" thank for sharing with half the world about the great service you received at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, I greatly appreciate it. I am so happy that you found our hotel convenient and our staff helpful. I sincerely hope this means we will see you again in the near future.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    278
    141
    73
    46
See reviews for
174
178
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The staff was very helpful. They have a shuttle to get you to the airport and back on your schedule, just let the desk know. The hotel is close to restaurants in a walkable part of town, I didn't see anything that concerned me about our safety, etc.. I read some people complained about the noise from the train, but this did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "John K", I am so glad that you decided to stay at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown during your recent business in San Diego. Thank you kindly also for taking the time to write this great review. Seeing these words here makes me proud to work her and makes our staff shoot for doing even better. Hopefully we will continue to be your premier lodging provider when you are in this area.

Sincerely,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nicely decorated, ample breakfast room and comfy and modern, not enough parking- had to park elsewhere, clean room, hotel designer screwed it up by not putting rooms facing the harbor and ships and gave the views to the hallway, nice kids park across the street with water play area, nicely located hotel along the waterfront area, good breakfast- 'cept too salty eggs and runny oatmeal, train tracks located behind hotel, ear plugs provided, but never heard the train.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "rosemaryronnis", the park that you mention here is called Waterfront Park. It is located right in front of our hotel and it opened 5/10/2014. It is a great addition to our area and we hope that it will serve as a great relaxation area for our guests. I am sorry about the issues with our breakfast, I will forward your comments to the kitchen staff. I hope that we have earned a spot in your future travel itinerary.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is located near the San Diego airport but right behind a set of railroad tracks. The trains run 24/7 and I literally mean 24/7. Thank God, the trains dont blow their whistles but the gate bells are constantly ringing. They ring all day and all night long. The sound is so loud that they drown out the noise from the jets landing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear "Joe A", thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay and for your patronage, I really appreciate it. I apologize for the noise associated with the train lines behind the hotel. For those member of this community considering staying with us, please make ask for rooms away from the back and this will help greatly, but unfortunately you will still be able to hear some noise. We cannot promise that you will get rooms in the front, but we definitely will try if that request is made.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Do not come here. The parking is terrible. We had to 1st find a spot in their garage. That was about 30 minutes. Then we had to make a determination as to whether we could fit into the spot (the same problem all the other cars were having, driving around the garage).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear "861tammy7" thank your taking the time to review our hotel for the members of this site. and for your patronage. I am really sorry that our parking facilities were inadequate. One way that we could resolve this issue is by using a valet service, but to do so would mean a substantial price increase of parking for our guests and hence opt not to go this route. Being that we are so close to the airport and have a courtesy van from there most times parking is not problem but there are times like summer travel and major holidays where in the interest of full disclosure we admit that this is a problem. We will limit the number of vehicles to one per room as a measure to help. If otherwise you enjoyed this area and other aspects, I would invite you to consider us in the future for stays on in season.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff helped provide us with a quiet room that was perfect for us, and also with information to help us get around to the activities in the area. They checked with us each day. The breakfast was great. It is really nice to have a hot breakfast, with enough food that enables you to get through a morning of activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear "Melanie L", thank you, thank you, thank you, that is all I can say to your great review on this site. Well, aside from thank you for deciding to stay at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Four of us stayed here when going to watch the Dbacks beat the Padres in June 2014. The hotel and room was impeccably clean, the staff was friendly and proficient, and the price was decent too.

We were on the 5th floor, so any train noise was not an issue for us. If you're heading to PetCo Park, there's a trolley stop right behind the hotel, and walking to it is not an issue at all. You're right at the Little Italy stop, and you just need to take the Trolley down to the GasLight stop.

The only minor negatives to point out are the $12/day parking fee in a potentially very crowded garage parking lot. The spots are tight, so I had my wife direct my 9 point back out maneuver so I wouldn't tap any bumpers :-)
The other catch is that you'll want to hit the continental breakfast early. It gets very crowded around 8am, but even with ample seating, it gets busy at the waffle iron. 7am was empty for us.

The USS Midway Museum and Maritime Museum are within walking distance. There is also an outdoor pool on the 2nd floor, but it's pretty small.

To sum up, it's clean, comfy, with friendly staff, a good breakfast, and close to some good downtown San Diego attractions. Stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear "John P" thank you for hitting the mostly good, the somewhat bad, and the practically non-existent ugly! I appreciate and I think the community will too the extensive review. I am glad that we were able to earn high marks from a top contributor. We hope to serve you again in the near future at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.