We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #103 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Cartago, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am glad to choose your option for booking among several alternatives I did consider this time. It was a clean, safe, friendly place to spend a long weekend in San Diego, California. I love the kindless of the service people who always did what they could to meet my requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Marco A", I hope you made it back safely to Costa Rica. Thank you for visiting America's Finest City! I am so happy to read you found our staff friendly and accomodating. This is what we strive to accomplish. I am glad that Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown was able to meet your expectations, perhaps we will exceed them the next time should you give us the pleasure of your return business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    265
    135
    71
    46
See reviews for
169
165
68
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location, service and price very helpful and friendly staff. 2 blocks away from the trolly station make it easy to roam around the city without the hassle of driving your car and finding parking spots. We like the Hampton chain of hotels and having breakfast ready every morning is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Carlos A", thank you so much for your review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, and for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. I hope we have earned your future business!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here after arriving in the early hours. Free shuttle from the airport was great. Very central, close to a lovely park for children. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast reasonable and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "Aim_Tony", thank you kindly for your words here and for your business, we hope to have earned your future business at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a hidden gem in San Diego!
We happened upon it after lunch while in town. Reasonable rates and AAA discounts. Very clean! Well appointed room. Very comfortable beds and white bedding. No view to speak of and you can hear the tram coming periodically but it's a short walk to harbor side and short walk to Little Italy. I would stay here again! Large lobby/ breakfast area and good variety for breakfast!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Txhicchic", I want to thank you for mentioning the aspects of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown that you liked such as our proximity to Little Italy, the breakfast, and our white bedding. I hope we have earned a gust for life. thank for you review and your business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Because it is next to trolley and rail tracks, it is extremely noisy at night. The room was ok, and the staff was courteous. The location was reasonably close to the convention center, and the baseball park, as well as the Gas-lamp district. The weather was good. Parking was good, and there is a parking garage. There are several good restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Too bad about the trolley and train noise, otherwise it would be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "Mark S', thank you very much for you review and for your business. Thanks also for your balanced review that not only includes the negatives, but also the positives such as the staff and location. I don't know if we will see you again here, but if you decide to honor us with your return business, please contact me so I can make arrangements to place you in a location as far away from the train lines as possible.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for just one night while in town for a Padres baseball game. The location was great, the bed was comfy, the staff was friendly and the trains were loud. For one night is was fine but I would never stay here longer than that. The trains were too distracting. The hotel makes all attempts to stifle the train sounds but even with ear plugs and room noise, it's loud enough to wake you up a few times a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "starrygirlb", to answer your question, we agree with you that the trains and their associated noise are distracting, and distracting of how good we feel the hotel and its amenities are and of its great location. Unfortunately all we can do is mitigate it as much as we can. Thank you very much for your review and for your business. We hope that the redeeming qualities would cause you to stay again for a short stay.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

An impromptu road trip lead us to Downtown San Diego. We found this great deal on Hotel Tonight. I was so happy to see ear plugs cause he snores, then I flung the curtains open to find there is a trolley and train that run in back of the hotel. The noise didn't bother me a bit with the plugs. Oh, the pool is lovely. It was Memorial Day weekend. We stayed another night to walk the waterfront to the Bob Hope Tribute to the Troops, to the museum, to Gas lamp district, to Kansas Barbecue and to play in the toy area across the street which the security guard politely kick us off of cause we are well past 12 yrs old! San Diego Zoo was a short 10 min drive. We'd stay here again because the staff was very accommodating and gave us a great deal the second night moving us to a room with a view of the waterfront!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "BoogleFace", thank you kindly for your thorough review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, we truly appreciate it. It will help other potential guests make the decision of whether to stay with us. We hope to serve you again soon!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;