We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located. Clean with fair sized rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
NOTTINGHAM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Centrally located. Clean with fair sized rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here after arriving in the early hours. Free shuttle from the airport was great. Very central, close to a lovely park for children. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast reasonable and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "Aim_Tony", thank you kindly for your words here and for your business, we hope to have earned your future business at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    262
    132
    70
    46
See reviews for
168
165
66
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a hidden gem in San Diego!
We happened upon it after lunch while in town. Reasonable rates and AAA discounts. Very clean! Well appointed room. Very comfortable beds and white bedding. No view to speak of and you can hear the tram coming periodically but it's a short walk to harbor side and short walk to Little Italy. I would stay here again! Large lobby/ breakfast area and good variety for breakfast!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Txhicchic", I want to thank you for mentioning the aspects of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown that you liked such as our proximity to Little Italy, the breakfast, and our white bedding. I hope we have earned a gust for life. thank for you review and your business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Because it is next to trolley and rail tracks, it is extremely noisy at night. The room was ok, and the staff was courteous. The location was reasonably close to the convention center, and the baseball park, as well as the Gas-lamp district. The weather was good. Parking was good, and there is a parking garage. There are several good restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Too bad about the trolley and train noise, otherwise it would be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "Mark S', thank you very much for you review and for your business. Thanks also for your balanced review that not only includes the negatives, but also the positives such as the staff and location. I don't know if we will see you again here, but if you decide to honor us with your return business, please contact me so I can make arrangements to place you in a location as far away from the train lines as possible.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for just one night while in town for a Padres baseball game. The location was great, the bed was comfy, the staff was friendly and the trains were loud. For one night is was fine but I would never stay here longer than that. The trains were too distracting. The hotel makes all attempts to stifle the train sounds but even with ear plugs and room noise, it's loud enough to wake you up a few times a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear "starrygirlb", to answer your question, we agree with you that the trains and their associated noise are distracting, and distracting of how good we feel the hotel and its amenities are and of its great location. Unfortunately all we can do is mitigate it as much as we can. Thank you very much for your review and for your business. We hope that the redeeming qualities would cause you to stay again for a short stay.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

An impromptu road trip lead us to Downtown San Diego. We found this great deal on Hotel Tonight. I was so happy to see ear plugs cause he snores, then I flung the curtains open to find there is a trolley and train that run in back of the hotel. The noise didn't bother me a bit with the plugs. Oh, the pool is lovely. It was Memorial Day weekend. We stayed another night to walk the waterfront to the Bob Hope Tribute to the Troops, to the museum, to Gas lamp district, to Kansas Barbecue and to play in the toy area across the street which the security guard politely kick us off of cause we are well past 12 yrs old! San Diego Zoo was a short 10 min drive. We'd stay here again because the staff was very accommodating and gave us a great deal the second night moving us to a room with a view of the waterfront!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "BoogleFace", thank you kindly for your thorough review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, we truly appreciate it. It will help other potential guests make the decision of whether to stay with us. We hope to serve you again soon!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in a great location downtown right on the train line. However, it is right on the train line and is noisy; even the hotel provided ear plugs for sleeping. The hotel is two blocks from the ocean where you can have a happy hour drinks and appetizers and PetCo Ballpark was easy to get to by foot or train. The ballpark is amazing!
The staff are super friendly and the breakfast was fantastic and they kept the dining area clean. The room was clean and modern. The pool was a bit small. They are building a city park across the street and when it is finished, it will be fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear "T S", I have great news for you the Waterfront Park made its debut on May 10th and it is a great addition to our area. I am already receiving positive feedback from our guests. Thank you for your review and I apologize for the noise caused by the train lines. It is my sincere hope that the next time you need lodging in San Diego, you will consider the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Hampton Inn has a great staff - from front desk to housekeeping and shuttle driver - and the location is the best. A short walk to the pier where the Midway museum is located, just around the corner from Little Italy and next to the Trolley station. It's location allows you easy access to downtown, old town and the I-5.
There is a pool to relax by and that is overlooking the front and the parking lot is so convenient. Plenty of in-n-out access and if you have a larger vehicle, go to the 2nd level where the spaces seem bigger. The shuttle has the airport as its priority, but when the driver doesn't have to make a trip there they will take you anywhere downtown. The walk to Seaport Village is only about 15-20 minutes and so is the gas lamp quarter.
When I come back to San Diego this is worth the money!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one in the middle because the trolley and railroad is along the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear "wubear" thank you for staying with us and for your time in completing this comprehensive review. I appreciate the feedback and anticipate that it will be very useful for other travelers to our area considering staying at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. See you next time!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.