We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I and another couple spent 6 nights at this hotel, The hotel was clean organized and in the perfect location for sight seeing. The staff at the front desk was outstanding; helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner. We used the shuttle several times during our stay which was very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again!!!

Jerry and Linda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear "Linda S", It is great to receive rave reviews, but especially from guests who give us their business for so many nights! We are honored that you stayed with us and gave us such a great recommendation. We look forward to being your prefered lodging provider when you are in America's Finest City again!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    283
    144
    73
    48
See reviews for
180
188
70
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herrin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We received 4 star service from the staff. Accommodations were clean, comfortable, and quiet. This is where we will stay for all return visits to San Diego. They made our family visit with our daughter a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear "Greg H", thank you for the comment about receiving four star service! While we cannot officially receive star ratings, it makes the staff feel awesome when guests comment that they received star-rated service! I am glad that your family vacation went well and that we were a part of it. Thank you for your your business and review, see you next time!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in March while attending a conference at the convention center. It was a nice hotel. They are near the train crossings, so definitely ask for a room on the opposite side so the ringing bells don't wake you up everytime a train goes by. They have a shuttle which can take you to nearby attractions such as the zoo. They were very helpful with giving directions and advice about the area. No problems with the room. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear "JessClair", thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate you pointing out some of the wonderful attributes of the hotel, as well a a traveler tip about the noise. I hope that we have earned your future business!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was clean and close walking distance to just about everything in a safe area. We took in a game. We did have to stay at a room near the back where the train tracks run but we must have been so tired we did not notice them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear "Robert R" thank you very much for your business and your review! I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay despite the proximity of your room to the train line. I hope that we have done enough to earn your future business!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As someone who has stayed in his fair share of Hampton Inns, my first reaction upon entering the Hampton Inn San Diego – Downtown was, “Wow this is a nice place!” And it is indeed a nice Hampton Inn.

This hotel has a very good location; it’s close to both the airport and the cruise ship terminals and has a view of San Diego Harbor. In fact, the harbor is a two block walk from the hotel entrance; if you walk 2-3 blocks in the opposite direction, you’ll find yourself in the Little Italy district with their many fine restaurants.

Check-in and check-out were efficient and cordial. The complimentary breakfast area had ample seating, was nicely serviced and featured a different hot egg and meat item each day. The interior hallways are wide and well-maintained. My room was certainly large enough, the plumbing, air conditioning and appliances were all in good working order, and the bed was very comfortable.

While the hotel’s convenient location is an advantage, it also has a clear downside – it is literally next to the commuter rail tracks. You will definitely hear the sounds of trains and railroad crossings. So, if you’re a light sleeper, you may want to avoid this property. The hotel does provide complimentary ear plugs in the room, but that won’t help if you're on business and need to wake up to an alarm. To be fair, there are numerous hotels and motels along Pacific Highway that share this issue.

If you are driving a car, be forewarned: the underground parking area is very narrow, so be prepared to take a few extra moments to squeeze you vehicle into a parking spot. There is a charge for parking, but it is comparable to other hotels in the area.

If a little evening noise doesn’t bother you or if you can afford to use earplugs, this is definitely a property you should consider.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear "BruinDan", Thank you for taking the time to extensively review the property after your stay and for pointing out both the pros and cons, I appreciate it especially coming from a reviewer with so much experience. I hope that those pros won out in your mind so we can earn your future business and referrals.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and can't say enough about the excellent service provided by the staff. We were upgraded to a huge suite because we are Hilton Honors members. The room faced PCH which was a bit noisy but the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the great breakfast and the location make up for it.

The hotel was very clean and they have a decent workout room, a nice little pool and a 'business center' near the lobby where I was able to print some documents. There was no safe in the room but the staff never made us feel like a bother when we stored our laptops daily in the safety deposit boxes.

It's an easy 20 min walk to the Gas Lamp district but Little Italy which I adored is just a couple of blocks away.

I was worried about the trains but we couldn't hear them from the front. I can't comment on the noise if you are in other rooms, but the staff say that there is a new quiet zone policy so I would think that helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear "MaxP7073", I am glad to heat that we have another satisfied Hilton HHonors member! I am glad we were able to provide an upgrade for your stay and that you enjoyed the location despite the busy street. Thank you for pointing out the great location of the hotel in terms of points of interest. We hope to earn your future business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent service. Close proximity to attractions and to the trolley. Parking rates less than a third of some other hotels in the area. Breakfast menu varied and fresh. Front desk staff friendly, and willing to help in any way possible. Flat screen TV and internet connection in room at no charge. Swimming pool size was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear "rcago", thank you for taking the time to inform the community how your stay was. Thank you also for your business and we hope to serve you again soon!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.