We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for Foodies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bankers Hill

Bankers Hill
2202 4th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
619.231.0222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American, Italian, International, Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Place for Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This restaurant is always a place that I would go with Friends or just on the spur of the moment. It was a place that I would enjoy if is was sharing plates with friends or a romantic date with my girlfriend. Food was always consistent and never felt boring going back as they would change items dues to seasonality.. Loved their Bruschetta !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty food, moderate prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Tasty food, pleasant atmosphere, and moderate prices are a great combination. Atmosphere: high ceiling, lots of wood, well spaced tables, and the restaurant smelled "fresh". Salmon+arugula+etc appetizer was yummy, as were the fish and shrimp entrees, capped off by an excellent brown betty dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food.....Going back for sure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went 5 times so far, which is something I do before I write any review and this restaurant is definitely a winner! Great food, amazing ambience and well priced. Due to the fact that is off downtown, parking is really easy. Having all of the above, I highly recommend for your to visit; I am going back for sure!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“hot spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Four of us ate here on a busy Saturday night. The place was jammed. Our server was knowable about the menu items and offered several good suggestions. The food was very good. I had the pork tacos and they turned out to not be my favorite. They were fine just not a good choice for my tastes. My wife had the shrimp dish and it was excellent. High noise level but not painful. Shpuld be repeated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The best meal I've had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently went to Bankers Hill with a group of friends for a dinner party. We unanimously agreed that this was one of the best dining experiences that we've had. The restaurant itself has a relaxed atmosphere combined with some of the best food and cocktails in San Diego. We started with an array of in-house cocktails. You simply cannot go wrong with any of them. We then shared a couple of orders of bruschetta. For mains, we went with the gnocchi, vegetable ravioli and pork tacos. Again, everything was excellent and there was a lot of food sharing among our group. It was tough to fit it in, but I elected for dessert. Simply put, their butterscotch pudding is impeccable and the best pudding you will ever eat. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bankers Hill also viewed

 

Been to Bankers Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bankers Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.