We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My neighborhood haunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Park Fish Company

Bay Park Fish Company
4121 Ashton Street, San Diego, CA 92110
+1 619-276-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #424 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Two guys with a great idea; that's how Bay Park Fish Company started. Jerry Adams and Marc Muller have had a passion for fishing, diving, and eating great seafood for over 30 years. Once the idea struck, there was no stopping them. In 2004 they found a great space available in Bay Park Village and began turning a retail store into a quaint little fish market & restaurant. This process took one year. Bay Park Fish Company opened it's doors in March of 2005, with seating for about 22. In 2006 we added patio dining. In 2007 we expanded the dining area to seat about 30 more people, with plans for another expansion in the future. We have since expanded into a full-size restaurant with a new dining area, two new bathrooms, and a large private dining room to be used for overflow and private functions. Bay Park Fish Company serves the freshest fish dishes, prepared to perfection. Our relaxed, easy-going atmosphere will have you feeling at home in no time. Our Catch of the Day comes in fresh daily, our sushi bar serves only the freshest products available, and our bar offers the perfect selection of beer and wines to accompany your food.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My neighborhood haunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Consistently great food, excellent range of options from tacos to superb main courses. Nice selection of wines and beers. Laid back, confortable, local and totally SD! Service usually wonderful, but recently less attentive than usual. Attention folks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pine, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only San Diego restaurant I go to every time I visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travel to San Diego several times a year to see family and always make a stop here for clams and fish tacos. The fish is so fresh, and the ceviche is awesome!! It is a cute neighborhood restaurant, and many more families are going now than years ago when I discovered it. The service is very friendly, and you can eat in the bar or dining room, or outside on the patio. Reasonably priced for wonderful food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Limp cold fries and fish smothered in mayo for $70?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although this place is still decent in terms of the quality of fish, their consistency seems to be lagging and prices seem out of line for what is essentially a family reestaurant. We had "dinner" here last night. I had the sword fish club (pretty good!) with slaw (small but great!) and fries (thin cut, mushy and cold?). My wife had a cup of clam chowder (always excellent!) and the seared ahi stack appi (smothered in so much wasabi mayo, you could not taste the fish-bleh!). With $20 wine, tax and tip this was a $70 dinner? I left wondering if we should have ordered something else and feeling the money probably would have been better spent elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bay Park Fish Co.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a long term San Diego resident Bay Park has become our go-to choice when showing off San Diego's wonderful seafood. It's a small, intimate neighborhood gathering place that has some of the freshest seafood in town. Their Macadamia crusted Halibut is by far my favorite. The mussel starter (at least 30 mussels for $12.) is a terrific value along with the fish tacos. Haven't found a single dish I didn't like and everyone we have taken has raved about it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Mussels to Die For- Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We absolutely loved bay Park Fish Vo. and went on a recommendation of friends we were visiting- The food and value far exceeded our expectations but because of the crowds, service was a little shoddy and slow. In any evert, we will definitely return, if for no other reason than the enormous bowl of fresh mussels in a terrific curry sauce. The Clam Chowder was also excellent and the rainbow roll of sushi was good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Park Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Bay Park Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Park Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.