We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ,great price central business location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard San Diego Central to your Saves list
Courtyard San Diego Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #47 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel ,great price central business location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times for business. It is central to north and south. 20 minutes to airport, free parking, friendly staff, nice pool area. Typical Marriott Courtyard, but a little more friendly. The management tries to make it one step above. Right off 163 and Balboa. Easy to downtown, the airport and the road tomEscondido n

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear calsun99,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you have stayed at our hotel many times for business and great to hear that we are meeting your needs. As you mentioned, our central location is ideal for both business and leisure activities with easy access to downtown and other great areas of San Diego.

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff and nice pool area. Glad we are taking care of you. We look forward to accomodating you again soon.

Best regards,

Roxanne Marlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    110
    26
    7
    11
See reviews for
80
38
15
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very nice hotel. Treated me very well. Staff was friendly and very helpful with any questions that I had. Hotel location was very close to my employer which was great for me but a fair drive from the downtown activities if that is what you are looking for. I ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. Workout facilities were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard Marriott San Diego Central. It is great to know that you found our hotel very nice and that our friendly and helpful staff treated you very well. Furthermore I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the workout facilities during your visit. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't have any complaints about our stay at this courtyard. I wanted to book a house on AirBNB for a weekend in San Diego with friends, but my husband ended up booking this to save money. Not only was it 20 minutes from anything downtown, but it felt like it was in the middle of nowhere, besides the freeway right across the street. Not much around but some restaurants and gas stations. And considering where it was i'm not sure saving the $30/day was worth it; after taxes and fees, it ended up being about $100/night, and we could have booked a 2 bedroom house for $130/night and been less than 5 minutes from balboa park and downtown.
Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. Nice pool, room was a good size, had a coffee maker and mini fridge, and super comfortable beds!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear chasetravelbug,

Thank you for your review. Although you had your mind on alternative accommodations other than a hotel during your visit to San Diego I am happy that you chose the Courtyard San Diego Central for your lodging needs. Furthermore I am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed the nice pool, your room and the comfortable beds. We appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast,ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for my last 2 nights in San Diego. This hotel is located within 20 minutes of the airport,which Made it ideal for our situation. No complaints here! Rooms were clean,pool and spa were very nice and clean. I never had a chance to try out the onsite restaurant, although it looked very nice! Did the job by being close to the airport and the staff was friendly .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne M, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Btz2994,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to know that our hotel location was ideal for your travel needs and that your room, the pool, and the spa were nice and clean during your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding the staff friendliness. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guest with an excellent hotel experience. We are thrilled that you had an excellent experience and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travel needs bring you to the San Diego area.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

First class all the way around. Don in the bar was hilarious!! Great company from a class A bartender. Cleanliness throughout entire hotel. The breakfast was awesome. The kitchen staff gets a 2 thumbs up. Pam the Mgr was prompt to our needs and made sure our son was entertained at the pool and suggesting activities and sites surrounding the city. We will definetly return to this hotel with our friends

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear George,
Don is such a shining star! Thank you so much for recognizing him, I can’t wait to share your feedback with him, and Pam of course. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. Pam Schwartz, Director of F&B just changed our dinner menu and Don created a tasty new craft cocktail list. I hope you have the opportunity to try them out the next time you are back.
Thank you,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was pleased to spend a night at this location. Upon checking in I was introduced to Marriott's pilot program where Platinum members not only received points at check in but also a gift from the small marketplace. The staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations. The room I was in was very spacious. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not too far from the Airport for an early morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gus,
As a Platinum guest we thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott! We are excited to share the new platinum incentive. To spread the excitement, we at the Courtyard San Diego Central, also have a property specific program that awards our Silver and Gold guests with a welcome gift as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRo70
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You know what the San Diego Central Courtyard by Marriott in May looks like and offers, because it's no different than most Courtyard by Marriotts. The rooms were large and clean. There was a breakfast buffet and a Starbucks counter. I stayed at this particular hotel because of its location near where I was traveling for business. The location didn't disappoint. I wouldn't have stayed at this hotel if it wasn't for the location, but I didn't mind staying there either. Other travelers seemed to be of a similar mind, as the hotel was busy while I stayed there. Some minor quibbles: Hotel staff asked if I wanted a newspaper delivered to my room, but didn't follow up. The woman minding the Starbucks counter clearly didn't want to tend to customers--one time, a long queue developed with angry customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Director of Sales at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear JRo70,
I am glad that our central location was convenient to your needs. I am sorry to hear that our service did not meet your standards. We have just implemented a new process to ensure that newspaper delivery requests are completed, I am sorry that you had to experience our faults prior to them being addressed. I hope that we can make it up to you the next time.
Best,
Tiffany Marcelino
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Diego Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.