We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Central

Save Saved
You added Courtyard San Diego Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #35 of 270 hotels in San Diego
East Hanover, New Jersey
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently we were guest at the Merriott Courtyard San Diego Central. While there, we celebrated our anniversary. When we returned to our room, Desiree and her staff had a beautiful cheese & fruit try with a bottle of wine waiting for us. Such a thoughtful thing to do. We have always been faithful Marriott guest and you can see why. Love all of their hotels and especially Courtyard San Diego Central. Can't wait to come back and visit. Thanks for everything. The Zeckers'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Happy belated Anniversary and thank you for spending this special occasion with us. I am very proud that Desiree took the initiative to pleasantly surprise you.

Many thanks for your loyalty to Marriott and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    86
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
71
30
11
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was that it was located in a business park. There was also very little parking near the hotel entry. Our room was clean and had comfortable beds, however the sink counter was very small and it was difficult to place our toiletries on the counter. There was a fan in the bathroom that ran al night so we closed the door and tried not to hear it. The was very little noise from any adjoining room and we were located on the 4th floor so we didn't have anyone above us. We came back to the hotel one evening and had to park in the back of the hotel. We entered the hotel with our hotel key but we could only enter into a hallway and not the main lobby. We were going to take the elevators, but our earlier experience was that they were very slow. The individual at the front desk could have been more helpful as we wanted to go downtown for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feed-back. I just wanted to add some more information to clarify your comments:

- The hotel is surrounded by parking and all 4 sides of the hotel have at least one entrance (a total of 6 entrances to be exact)
- You are correct that the non-main entrances lead into a hallway, but all hallways lead directly into the lobby

We will certainly work on the controllable suggestions you pointed out. I am just as disappointed as you that our front desk team did not live up to our expectations. My apologies about this shortcoming.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Don seems to do it all and doesn't miss a beat. Not only does he mix a great drink but he also provides great entertaining conversation. The service is terrific and Don and Roza took great care of us. We will be back for a visit very soon !!! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you very much for commending two of our great associates. Very happy to hear that they took great care of your needs. It does not get any better than this.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everyone I encountered, from the front desk to housekeeping to the shuttle drivers went out of their way to accomodate my needs and make me feel at home (away from home). I have not seen such positive attitudes and desire to make people (their guests) happy in a long time. They ran their shuttle after hours for me. I had a very old Marriott gift card with a less than $2 on it. When I found out it couldn't be read in their system, I said to just forget it, no big deal. They gave me the bag of microwave popcorn I was trying to purchase for free!

I would stay here on a vacation trip, not just business!

Green Features: I love that they are concerned about the environment - recycle cans in the rooms, hang up linens if willing to use again, turning the AC down when not in use. It's better for ALL of us!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
What a great story that illustrates the genuine kindness our associates are able to display. Many thanks for sharing and I am very proud that our team made such a great impression on you.

Please see us again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 7 years for a volleyball tournament we come to every year! They have continually become better and better at providing for our needs. They have become family and we have continually become closer to the amazing staff! We recommend this hotel to all the other teams that we see from this tournament and will continue to stay here for our annual trip!

Room Tip: If you are going for business then try the room that has a tv and large conference table, or if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your longstanding loyalty. We are very proud to have hosted your team. It is only with your help that we have been able to fine-tune our service to your needs.

Your compliments are very kind and we can't wait to welcome you back next year.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our team stayed here for a football passing league at SDSU. The hotel staff worked with us to accommodate our early departure and fed everyone breakfast before the dining room opened. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I am very pleased that our team worked with your special needs. Thank you for the kind feed-back and I hope that the event was a great success and fun.

Please see us again, especially considering that you are not too far away.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard while on a business trip in the San Diego area and it was an excellent stay. From check-in to check-out the staff was exceptional. I stay at a lot of Marriott properties while on business and wish the other Marriott hotels could take a lessen from the staff here. The hotel was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The food at breakfast and dinner was great, but there is a fee unless you book the room at a rate which has breakfast included. I highly recommend anybody looking for a great hotel in the San Diego central area stay at this Courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous recommendation. This means a lot from somebody that travels as much and has reviewed quite a number of hotels. I am very proud that our team sets us apart and that you also enjoyed the physical attributes of our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#43 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Diego Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.