We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard San Diego Central to your Saves list
Courtyard San Diego Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
1 review
“Perfect Location & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just got back from 2 nights at this hotel for my sons basketball tournament. The hotel could not have been in a better location considering we played games in all 4 corners of San Diego. Even though the hotel was full of basketball players of various ages I never felt that there were any noise issues etc. The room was laid out perfectly with 1 king bed and a sofa sleeper (my son said the sofa was very comfortable). Every staff member we interacted with was very helpful and even though some of the kids might have been a little excited while waiting for some poolside pizza they never made us feel like we shouldn't be celebrating the days victories.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor a few doors down from the elevator and there were no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
You are pointing out one key reason why we are so popular with sports teams, does not matter if kids, college, or adults - our central San Diego location makes it super convenient to get to the many tournament sites in a flash. On top of it, we are able to accommodate the many Food & Beverage needs our guests have - from casual pool side events to buffets in our restaurant and more elaborate dinner offerings in our ballroom.

I am glad you had some victories to celebrate and look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels take you to San Diego. Thank you for your detailed review.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    119
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
92
40
16
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a function to go to in San Diego over the weekend and stayed at the Courtyard San Diego Central. We had a great time. Overall the experience was wonderful. The room was big and spacious, clean and cozy. We had a great time swimming at the big swimming pool- even able to do some lap swimming it was so big. The breakfast they provide at the hotel was also very good. Overall the staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Glad you took advantage of our junior olympic size pool and our highly rated breakfast. The quality of our breakfast and friendliness of the team is something we are very proud of.

Thank you for staying with us and please see us again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Enjoyed our clean, airy suite; good air conditioning, spacious and well-designed, although vanity lighting was too dim--a common problem nowadays--and the sofas are low and small. They seem more designed for pull-out sleeping than sitting. Especially liked the lobby/eating/lounging areas because of the multi-use offerings. Service throughout was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for the many compliments in regards to the room/lobby design in addition to our team's service. We started to offer dual-lit mirrors for our guests that need a bit more lighting in the bathroom and they have been a hit. Please be sure to ask for one the next time you are staying with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maricopa, arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked room with king bed and sofa bed for my Grandson ,wife and two kids. When they arrived they told him they gave that room away and said his room was given away because it is first come first served service. They gave him a room with King bed only but he found 4 spiders in the room. Obviously they got their money refunded and left... Have stayed at various comfort inns in Calif. and Ariz. without problems but urge you to stay away from this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
My apologies about this disappointing experience. First of all, you should have received the room type you reserved. It has nothing to do with first come, first served. The spider finding is very disstressing. I am glad that our team did the right thing and refunded the money as you obviously did not receive what you paid for.

Thank you for sharing.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My team (6) had a big presentation that afternoon, and the catering manager went out of her way to find us a meeting room and lunch service so we could prepare. It was a tremendous help. Great location as well, with close access to both the 163 and 15 freeways. We'll be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am very pleased that our team was of great service to help you prepare for your important presentation. Thank you for sharing this positive experience.

Let's play the Southern California Freeway game; not only are we in between the 163 and 15, but the 805, 52, and 8 are just as close.

See you again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My son and his teamates have a water polo tournament in San Diego every year and we always stay at this hotel. The price is very resonable, the breafast is good, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is always clean and they do not charge for parking! The staff has always been very helpful and accomidating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for making us your headquarter hotel. I am proud that we provide you with service that you appreciate, quality you deserve, and value that is light on your pocket book.

Hope the tournament went well and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

.....but this hotel made me feel at home! Joe at the front desk and Mark in the restaurant went out of their way to make me feel comfortable.

The hotel was clean and nice and the hotel management staff should be delighted that their staff made an impression on me that I would remember their names.
Good job!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are certainly delighted that our team did exactly what many of our guests desire - personal touches that are memorable.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for giving back by recognizing those that took great care of you.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in San Diego
#43 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Diego Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.